Bonjour Monday & My Race Schedule

Preface. The below list might lead you to believe that I love racing. I don’t, but I do love running. Even more, I love training. I use races as an opportunity to get in some miles, with friends, water stops, and cheering crowds. Occasionally I will give it my all, but not often. I hate the recovery/down time. I also don’t have a competitive spirit. I like to do my best, but I have zero desire to beat someone else. So…I often pace groups or keep a friend company for their race. Anyways…here’s my schedule for the remainder of the year:

August:

22-24 The Cumberland Plateau Stage Race

September:

1 The Franklin Classic 10k/5k (this is the 1st time I’m planning to race both distances)

6 The East Kentucky Half Marathon (a good excuse to visit my Nana)

October:

12 Chicago Marathon

November: 

15 Viva la Diva 10k (this one gets a maybe)

23 Harpeth Hills Flying Monkey Marathon

27 Boulevard Bolt 5 Miler

December:

6 St. Jude Memphis Half Marathon

14 Peeler Park Trail 6 Miler (maybe)

 

IMG_4511
8 mile run (8:45 pace).  Nothing special…just a nice run before I had to go to the dentist.  Seen on my run:

IMG_4125

Looking like a rockstar during my teeth cleaning and 6 month check up at the dentist.

IMG_4507

Happy to report that I am cavity free!

If I’m home for lunch, I eat this salad…like every day.  It’s been years and it never gets old.  That’s not weird right? My husband likes to calculate the money I spend on mâché rosettes and strawberries per year.  Today, I added peaches as well, because I like to live on the edge.

IMG_4506

Speaking of husband, when he’s a way the wife will build a mountain of guacamole and call it dinner. This is a totally acceptable portion size, yes?!

IMG_4520

And lastly, some avocado humor:)

IMG_4505.JPGI hope you all had a wonderful Monday!!

What are some of your upcoming races?  

Do you always race or do you run some just for fun?

Don’t forget to #choosejoy

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Bonjour Monday & My Race Schedule

  1. I’m not that competitive either to be honest, but sometimes I like to pretend I am, ha! For now I’ve got a half marathon in November and I’m thinking of throwing some short distance races in the mix before then. We’ll see though.
    Great post!

    Like

  2. I’m not that competitive either to be honest, but sometimes I like to pretend I am, ha! For now I’ve got a half marathon in November and I’m thinking of throwing some short distance races in the mix before then. We’ll see though.
    Great post!

    Like

  3. I am pretty competitive; not always with other people, more with myself. Because of this, I have to really be careful about scheduling races when I’m training for a particular race that is really important to me. Case in point: I will participate in a 5K this Saturday, but then have to do my long run on Sunday, so I’m going to try to have fun and not worry about my time – sometimes difficult for me! I hope you have such a great time at the Chicago Marathon!! All of these sound exciting, and I love St. Jude’s Half!

    Like

Leave a Reply

