DC Day 3 and the Cupcake Showdown

I don’t really like to repeat restaurants when I’m on vacation, but my husband asked if we could go back to the Founding Farmers.  Our compromise was to have breakfast there this morning since we had already tried their dinner menu.  He didn’t have any early meetings, so we ran there together.

Check out this giant bowl of oats…literally the size of my head (and I have a big melon)!

IMG_5022

He headed back to the hotel to get ready for the day and I set out for the zoo.

IMG_4999

The Smithsonian’s National Zoo opens at 6am and is free.  It was basically a ghost town during the early morning, so it was easy to cover some ground.

**Side note: I typically have a good sense of direction, but I keep getting turned around in DC.  Thank goodness for google maps when I’m out running.  With a few wrong turns, I ended up with 10 miles roundtrip.

I went back to the hotel gym to lift, clean up and set out for lunch.

I had the best of intentions to get a salad at Sweet Green but couldn’t resist the patio at Circa. The weather was beautiful and the patio made for great people watching by GW.

IMG_5020
I still had a salad…it just happened to include prosecco and sweet potato fries. It’s all about balance.

IMG_5019

I earned those fries by walking back to the hotel instead of calling a car, right? Speaking of walking, DC calls for sensible flats. I have walked my tuchas off!

IMG_5018

 

For dinner, we had tapas at Bodega in Georgetown.

IMG_5071

I love tapas, because I get to sample a bunch of dishes.  We shared the Field Green Salad with Pears, Spanish Tortilla, Creamy Mushroom Rice, and Green Beans with Almonds.

I did my best to eat lightly, because we decided to have our own (extremely scientific) cupcake battle between Georgetown Cupcakes and Baked & Wired.  Both came highly recommended, so we just had to visit both shops.  Let’s remember that there are no real losers in a cupcake showdown.

IMG_5065

IMG_5064

Top (L to R): Vanilla Birthday and Chocolate Ganache from GC Bottom (L to R): The Strawberry and Red Velvet

Hands down Baked & Wired was our favorite!  I’m a frosting lover and the hubs loves the cake.  We both preferred Baked and Wired.

After all of those sweets, we rode some bikes along the river back to our hotel.

Check out the gorgeous sunset!

IMG_5066-3

IMG_5067-0

Our last stop was the Lincoln Memorial.  My pictures don’t do it justice.

IMG_5068-1

Lastly and most importantly, my Grandparents are celebrating their 64th Wedding Anniversary today…absolutely incredible!

Are you a sweet or salty lover?  I am sweets all the way!!!

#choosejoy

 

8 thoughts on “DC Day 3 and the Cupcake Showdown

  1. I love the cupcake showdown! I used to be sweets all the way, but I do love a salty treat now, too – must be all of this sweat that’s pouring out during this hot, humid runs lately! I have fond memories of the National Zoo; so excited you were able to enjoy it! Have fun!

    Like

  2. When I visited DC, Founding Farmers was on my list of places I wanted to eat, but we didn’t get the chance. At least I did get to run and ride around DC, though. One of my favorite treats in DC was a fruit scone from the farmer’s market.

    Like

Leave a Reply

