What The Heck, Wednesday?!

My stupid broken toe has been keeping me up for the last few nights. Sleep deprivation is not cool. I felt foggy and “off my game” all day.

The good news is that I was able to start my day with our weekly crepe breakfast date.  Breakfast (and coffee, of course) has a way of making everything better:)

IMG_5470

I set out for my run from the Perch.  After a couple days of easy running, my legs wanted to run. The broken toe did not.

IMG_5448

It didn’t feel great physically, but my spirit appreciated the run.  Do you like the puddle of sweat forming around me? (Garmin 620, Saucony Kinvara 5, Oiselle Winona Tank)

I’ve noticed some soreness from changing my stride. Hopefully one injury does not beget another.  I figured an ice bath was a good idea.

IMG_5471

They really help me to bounce back faster.

I stopped by my bank to make a deposit.  My bank gives me cookies.  They’re really good cookies.  I’m not saying I make my money decisions based solely on cookies, but it sure doesn’t hurt.  Insert a Pavlov’s dog/ classical conditioning joke here.

IMG_5472

I’m sure it’s the southerner in me, but I get so excited when a Lilly Pulitzer box arrives in the mail. Yea for preppy beach prints!

IMG_5476

I normally run a double on Wednesdays, but two runs didn’t seem wise today.  I decided to do some cross-training at OrangeTheory.  The class was at 5:30.  I needed to eat a light dinner beforehand or else I would be starving afterwards.

So…I had romaine spears with cracked pepper and parmesan.

IMG_5473

No utensils needed. I just use them as dippers.

IMG_5474

And then guacamole. I can not get enough avocados. I used to hate them until I became a vegetarian. Now I crave them.

IMG_5475

OrangeTheory.  Thank you to my instructor, Sunil for the modifications. I biked instead of running on the treadmill, and I sucked.  It’s like I broke my brain when I broke my toe. Blah. I just stayed confused and had bad form.

But, a bad workout is better than no workout.  I feel like I say it daily, but I was so thankful for my friend, Corrie, Sunil, and AC/DC (Back In Black was my jam).

IMG_5477

So…here’s to getting a good night’s sleep!  If not, I’ll go hang out at my bank and eat their cookies tomorrow.

A random picture that reminded me that limitations are often in my mind.

IMG_5433

Do you eat before an evening workout?  

Do you take ice baths?

#choosejoy

4 thoughts on “What The Heck, Wednesday?!

  1. Great way to relieve some of your toe “stress” last night at OrangeTheory – that’s great! I can’t believe there was a time when you did NOT like avocados – isn’t that wild?!? I wonder how many you go through in a week right now…my guess is 3. 🙂 HA! We love them at our house, too; nothing is off-limits, everything tastes better with some avocado on it!

    Like

  2. I usually don’t eat before evening workouts I prefer waiting until after and I’m a fan of Epsom salt baths myself 🙂 though I do have an occasional ice bath

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

