Drop Week…BOOM!

Because of a big Labor Day race, my Chicago Training Group didn’t have a formal training run on our schedule.  This week also happened to fall on a drop week, and my long run called for 16 miles.

I ran 4 very dark solo miles.

IMG_5681

I love that my Cocogo packets fit in my handheld sleeve!  Lemon Lime kept me hydrated today.  Cocogo is offering free shipping through Labor Day.  AND…you can use my discount code: JENCHOOSESJOY for 10% off your order!

IMG_5672
I met these ladies for 8 miles.

IMG_5639
The sunrise was spectacular!

We had awesome zucchini muffins baked by Lauren…I love friends that bring baked goods to a run!!!  I brought these little bags of granola for everyone.  Apparently, food is our love language.  (I’ll post the granola recipe this weekend.)

IMG_5673

Then, I headed out to run 4 more miles.  I got super lucky and ran into the Run 4 Others training group. They were kind enough to let me jump in with them and I ended up with 17 miles.  I’ve said it a million times, but I feel so blessed to have this incredible run community!
I loved that today’s run was so relaxed. No set pace. No preset routes. Just great company. I don’t want every run to be loosey goosey but this was a nice reprieve. Also, when did 17 miles become my relaxed drop week?!!  Progress is beautiful!

IMG_5667

After an ice bath and shower, I propped my feet up on my porch swing in my LF Oiselle sweats.  They are so comfy!!

IMG_5669

 

After some rest, I went to Fleet Feet to pickup my packet for the Franklin Classic.  I signed up for the 10k and 5k.  With a broken toe, I won’t be speedy, but I still plan to run it for fun.

IMG_5664

Of course I needed to buy this cute Nike pullover. It’s impossible for me to go to Fleet Feet without buying something.  Who’s ready for crisp fall running?!!

IMG_5668

We went to Costco and I couldn’t resist this black bean “pasta”.  I have no idea what I’ll do with it,but curiousity got the best of me.  Side note: do NOT go on a Saturday afternoon. It was a zoo.

IMG_5677

When I got home, I had to ice my foot.  It was a little cranky from my long run:(  Just another reminder that I won’t be racing on Monday.

IMG_5665

We had a Mexican dinner with the tastiest blackberry margarita!

IMG_5663

IMG_5662

And a slice of birthday cake from Whole Foods…just because.

IMG_5660

And then…Lauren Fleshman favorited my tweet!  I am definitely a big nerd.

IMG_5679

I hope you’re having a super long weekend!

Have you tried Black Bean “pasta”?  Let me know if you have ideas for it!

Are you a COSTCO or Sam’s Club shopper?  Those stores are always crazy and stress me out.

#choosejoy

5 thoughts on “Drop Week…BOOM!

  1. I do NOT like going to those big stores, Jennifer; UGH! My husband goes to Sam’s Club occasionally (we do not have Costco), but I have no desire to go. The thought of going makes me want to cringe. Great run with your group and take care of that foot/toe, missy!

    Like

  2. I have the Oiselle LF sweats too. Now I just need a job where its ok to wear them to work…

    I’m so ready for fall running. I’ve been staring at my long sleeves and sweatshirts for much too long now. Time to get some good use out of them!

    Hope the Franklin Classic was fun and went well! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

