The Franklin Classic

We started the day with a 4am alarm to bake for the post-race brunch. My husband requested his favorite breakfast casserole.  I also took the brown sugar bundt cake that I posted yesterday.  I’ll post the recipes shortly:)

IMG_5896

I had a Picky Bar and coffee before we left the house.

The new Cookie Doughpness is SO good!

The new Cookie Doughpness is SO good!

Time to race: The Franklin Classic! We met up with so many awesome friends. Our entire community runs this race.
I ran in my favorite Saucony Kinvara 5’s. The yellow makes me so happy:)

IMG_5892

 

IMG_5905

Lots of love for Fleet Feet Racing!

This was my first time running both the 10k (7:00 start) and the 5k (8:30 start).

***Preface: I don’t run short, fast races very well.  My stubbornness lends itself to endurance!

I didn’t taper for these races and I’m in the middle of training for the Chicago Marathon.

 

IMG_5878

My husband had a great 10K race!

The course is hot and hilly.  Every year I question why I run it.  It’s mostly because I want to run with my friends (peer pressure at it’s finest), but also because it supports Mercy Community Healthcare. I beat last years time by 27 seconds. Not a huge difference, but this year I had so much more breath control. I felt more relaxed. Progress.

IMG_5904

10k splits: 7:49, 7:50, 8:04 (hills), 7:47, 7:36, 7:28
Finish time.  10th in AG.  48:14

I probably should have found a seat in the shade, but instead I stood around socializing in the sun.  I felt a little stiff for the 5k, but I just reminded myself that it was temporary. Also, the hills weren’t as bad on the 5k course.

5k Splits: 7:31, 7:34, 7:37
Finish time.  5th in AG 23:45

This was only my 2nd 5k.  My first was in July and I ran a 21:xx.  My friend Corrie said that I was on the 50k to 5k plan!

Conclusion:  Short-distance runner are badasses. Today’s races just made me want to puke.  Can you tell it was hot?!!!

Just finished the second race...wiped out!

Just finished the second race…wiped out!

I drank Cocogo Lemon-Lime in my handheld for both races.  I definitely needed it today!

IMG_5907

Use code: JENCHOOSESJOY (all caps) for 10% off your order!

We stayed to cheer on our friends for their awards and then the best part of the race…brunch afterwards hosted by our friends Alex and lauren!!!! Thank you SO much for hosting a bunch of stinky runners!!!  Everything was incredible!

Just look at this spread!

IMG_5893

My friends are seriously good cooks.  I made sure to try it all!

IMG_5894

The obligatory post-brunch pic…

IMG_5891

We took our full bellies home for a much needed shower and rest.

After a full day, I didn’t really feel like cooking so we headed out for celebratory pizza at Mellow Mushroom. I love their build your own salad menu!

IMG_5889

Romaine with cucumber, shredded mozzarella, and portobello mushrooms

And of course their pizza!

IMG_5888

Tell me about your Labor Day!
What’s your favorite race distance? Do you stick to that distance or run others?

#choosejoy

7 thoughts on “The Franklin Classic

  1. Your day sounds wonderful! My hubs and I ran in a 5k Saturday called Run Like the Wind that supports local youth running programs! It was and steamy here too. We both won 3 rs in our age groups. Much to our surprise! We are both just hoping to finish at this point in our running careers! Lol

    Like

  2. Pingback: 3,821 Miles | Jen Chooses Joy

Leave a Reply

