Cancelled Race

Will. Run. For. Coffee. 6 miles with the Breakfast Club.  This group makes me laugh so hard that I get a bonus ab workout!

IMG_6051

Here’s an article from Runner’s World on the 8 Reasons To Drink Coffee.  Drink up!!

IMG_6053

Speaking of Starbucks…For those of you with a gold card, they’re running a 5 stores for 5 stars promotion.

IMG_6050

IMG_6049

I’m up for the challenge!

During our morning run, we realized a bunch of us were running in Swiftwick socks. I said that I have a drawer full of Swiftwicks…here’s proof! Rock The Socks!

IMG_6048

After our run, I started packing for the Eastern Kentucky Half Marathon this Saturday….when I received this email.

IMG_6052

Bad news: The race is cancelled…big bummer:(  The town has been declared an emergency area from flooding and they’re expecting more rain.

Good news: I’m still going anyways to visit with family!!!

I trust race directors in these situations. I was in Memphis last December when they cancelled the St. Jude Marathon.  It’s just part of life. Bummed, but I’ll just do a long run instead.

This evening I went back to Orange Theory with Corrie and Kellie (it was her first class)!  It was another awesome class that kicked my butt…thank you Sunil!

IMG_6046

Pre-sweat!

Post-sweat!

Post-sweat!

Picky Bars must have known that I wore their shirt this morning, because I came home to Picky Mail!!

P.S. Cookie Doughpness is my new favorite flavor!

IMG_6045

Have you ever had a race cancelled at the last minute? How did you adjust your training?

What’s your favorite brand of run socks?

Do you share my Starbucks addiction?

#choosejoy

6 thoughts on “Cancelled Race

  1. You, my dear, are a rockstar! Such a positive outlook no matter the circumstance 🙂 I hope you and the Mr have a wonderful weekend in KY!

    Like

  2. Ugh….I feel for you. Sounds like a smart decision on the part of the race directors though. I ran Marine Corps last October and it was ALMOST cancelled because of the “government shutdown” a couple weeks prior. I had a freakout, as it was a goal race for me, and was scrambling to try and find another race in order to not “waste” the training. Luckily, things went on as planned. Hope you have a great weekend anyway!

    Like

  3. Such a great attitude! So many people get so worked up about things like that! It isn’t like race directors WANT to cancel! So much work to cancel and/or reschedule! Glad you still get to go to visit family at least! Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

