Longest Long Run!!

First things first…I just finished my longest long run in my Chicago training cycle…woo hoo!!!!!!!  I was actually really excited for this run and I enjoyed (almost) every minute of it:)

IMG_6688

My incredible friends met me at 5am and ran the first 12 with me at 9:20 pace.
I ran the next 11 solo and tried to pick up the pace.
My last mile was at 7:39.
Today’s run gave me the confidence boost that I needed for Chicago.

I can home and drank my cherry juice…great for recovery!

IMG_6714

Took an ice bath,

IMG_6713

And ate the breakfast of champions: oatemeal with cinnamon and bananas and an English muffin with my Gran’s homemade pear preserves!!!

IMG_6715

My friend corrie sent me this hilarious list last night: 15 Things That Only Happen When You’re An Athlete.  It’s just what I needed the night before a long run!

I picked a few of my favorites…

When you talk to your friends/ family after a loss

IMG_6699

When my favorite teammates reunite after a break. (Side note: my friends and I do this even if we saw each other yesterday!)

IMG_6701

When coach is paying for dinner

IMG_6702

When the athletic department distributes the new gear.

IMG_6703

When my athletic trainer wants me to do rehab after practice.

IMG_6704

When I get in the ice bath.

IMG_6706

When I finally get food after practice.

IMG_6707

When I’m trying to sleep the night before a death workout.  (This is me the night before a track time trial!)

IMG_6708

When my coach finishes his pre-game speech.

IMG_6711

How’s your fall marathon training going?  

How far do you run for your longest long run?

What’s your favorite post-run food?

#choosejoy

One thought on “Longest Long Run!!

  1. I think my husband is embarrassed by me right now because I’m laughing out loud in the middle of Starbucks and might look a bit like a crazy person. Those are so perfect!

    Great job on the long run! Dang! You’re ready to rock Chicago!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

