11 Safety Tips for Running in the Dark

After some Summer-like temps this weekend, we had a glorious morning in the 50s!

7 crisp easy paced miles through the park.

IMG_6790
I headed straight to OrangeTheory Fitness for some cross-training.  I’m even learning to enjoy the bike…crazy!

IMG_6789
The cooler temperature has me so excited for Fall!  I picked up some white pumpkins for the house!

IMG_6788

IMG_6787

and some fresh flowers for the kitchen.

IMG_6786

The cooler temps also mean that it’s dark during my early morning runs again.

Here are a few tips to help you stay safe during your early morning/late night runs.

1.  Wear reflective clothing.

IMG_6792

I also love the reflectivity of Saucony’s Viziglo material.

IMG_6793

2.  If you can, take your cellphone with you. (Also, the flashlight on the iphone can help when you’re in a pinch.)

3.  Wear or carry a light. (I run with a headlamp during the winter.)  My husband really wanted to capture this super-cool moment last winter.  I’ve found that the Amphipod reflective vests fit me best.

IMG_6791

4.  Run on the left side of the road.

5.  Seek out well-lit run routes.

6.  Don’t listen to music.

7.  Always have identification on you.  I wear a Road ID on my shoe.

IMG_6400

8.  Make sure you tell someone where you’re running and what time you’ll return.

9.  Run with a friend or group.

10.  Pay attention to your surroundings.

11.  Trust your instincts.  If something feels unsafe, don’t do it.

Everyone please stay safe out there!

What am I forgetting on my list of safety tips?

Do you take spin classes or indoor cycling?  

#choosejoy

15 thoughts on “11 Safety Tips for Running in the Dark

  1. Great tips, thank you! I am always on hyper-alert when I am running alone in the dark. (For example the family of raccoons that nearly gave me a heart attack this morning! Or the newspaper delivery person who pulled over near me and I was convinced that I was about to be kidnapped…)

    Like

  2. Great tips, Jen! I love your winter pic…tell Jason that was definitely a moment worth capturing! We’ll be there again before you know it! I would like to take a spin class, occasionally; I think it would be great cross-training, but I have a difficult time fitting classes in when I’m available to go. I’ll keep checking! Thanks for the recommendations!

    Like

  3. Can you take us on a tour of your house? It’s beautiful! I love the white pumpkins too.

    Good tips! Running in the dark is definitely not something anyone (especially women) should do alone. I love the jacket, super cute! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

