September Miles and a Brick Workout

September Miles.

My long runs were longer, so I tried to keep my easy days easy.  I worked hard this month.

IMG_7182

Track Tuesday called for a Brick Workout!

Track prep.  This was my first time trying the new Chocolate Huma Chia Energy Gel.  The flavor isn’t as rich as the Chocolate Gu, but I love the chia seed texture and I like that it’s not as thick as Gu.  I imagine it would be a little easier to swallow during a race.

IMG_7179

Lots of math!

IMG_7178

The point of this workout is to start out at tempo pace, and get faster with each distance on tired legs.  It literally makes your legs feel like bricks.

I did a 4 mile warm-up/ drills

1 x 1600 w/ 1 minute rest (7:25)

4 x 800 w/400 recovery jogs (3:26, 3:25, 3:25, 3:24)

4 x 400 w/ 400 recovery jogs (1:38, 1:39, 1:38, 1:35)

1 mile cool down

Swiftwick Compression Socks for recovery after an ice bath and shower.

IMG_7184

I was craving eggs all day (which is rare for me).  Maybe I needed the protein….so for dinner we had kitchen sink salads and gouda and mushroom omelettes!

IMG_7198

And…flourless chocolate cake for dessert!

IMG_7180

Can you believe it’s October?!!!  I think of this quote every year 🙂

IMG_7181

Do you keep up with your monthly/ yearly mileage?  This is my first year keeping track of it.

Do you wear compressions during your workout or for recovery?

#choosejoy

9 thoughts on “September Miles and a Brick Workout

  1. I’m looking forward to keeping track of my miles in 2015! I’m getting so excited! October got here so fast but that’s just okay with me. I love math when it comes to running and speed work! I have apps that help make the conversions easier though 😉
    Ashley @ Kickashmom.com

    Like

  2. Holy smokes, I am so impressed with your numbers! I do keep meticulous track of my mileage:) I wear compression socks after long runs and have been wearing them at work as well. And I need that omelet for dinner–just saying.

    Like

  3. I just bought my first pair of Swiftwicks a few weeks ago and they have been wonderful! The past two years I’ve gotten off from tracking my mileage after a couple injuries, so my goal in 2015 is to stay injury free and to track my mileage the whole year.

    Like

  4. Jen, I’m so happy to hear that you like the Huma gels; I have several that I received as samples from the owner of my local running shop, but I’ve been hesitant to actually try them – ha! I will give it a go now; I love chia seeds. I’ve recently started wearing compression socks after my long runs; I think they help! I love your Anne of Green Gables quote; one of my favorites. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Happy October! Your mileage is amazing – at this rate you are going to be close to 4000 by the end of the year! I have only ever worn compression socks for long runs, maybe I will give them a try for recovery too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

