A Birthday & Chicago Day 1

It’s been a full two days. Jason’s 40th was a blast and we’re now in Chicago for the Marathon. This post has few words and a bunch of pics!

 

Thursday:

Breakfast club. Best friends. 6 miles. Coffee and Alex’s homemade cinnamon rolls!!!

IMG_7806

Big birthday hair.

IMG_7804

Birthday dinner at Saint Anejo.

IMG_7809
Skulls seemed appropriate for 40.

IMG_7808
Lots of skulls…

IMG_7811
Even on the cake! (Chocolate cake with chocolate buttercream frosting and fudge filling.  These details matter!)

IMG_7805

IMG_7813
Beyond thankful for our friends!!!!

IMG_7812
Big belly laughs from Drew’s stand-up!  HI-larious!

IMG_7814
Late night (over)packing.  4 pairs of shoes.  1 race.

IMG_7815

Friday:

My pups stay at Miss Kitty’s Bed and Bath…so cute, and they have an app that lets me watch their doggie cam!!!

IMG_7816
Airplane reading.

IMG_7817
Race expo.

IMG_7818
I love pre-race runner energy!!!

IMG_7819
Coolest course map.

IMG_7820
Our hotel view of the lake AND the start/finish area.

IMG_7822
Windy City selfie.

IMG_7824
Taper and lots of carbs…ready to run!!!

IMG_7826

 

Are you racing tomorrow?  

Long run?

What’s your favorite type of birthday cake?  Mine…red velvet with cream cheese frosting!!

#choosejoy

9 thoughts on “A Birthday & Chicago Day 1

  1. I’m not 100% sure if I really love red velvet cake or if its just a vehicle for the cream cheese icing…but good choice regardless!

    Tomorrow is my last 20 miler before I start my taper! I can’t believe NYCM is only 3 weeks away!! Good luck tomorrow!!! 🙂 I’ll be excited to hear about it!

    Like

  2. What a cool course map! Weather looks great and I’m so jealous of all of you lucky racers this weekend! Soak up all that energy for me! Love your hair, too! Mine’s pretty curly but I’m wondering if I could try that look if I straightened it. 🙂 Looks like you guys are having a fun time. Have a great race tomorrow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

