Chicago Day 2: Deena, Bart, and Carbs

We woke up to this sunrise view of Lake Michigan and the race finish line!

IMG_7854
We headed to the Runners World shake out run where we got to meet up with our friend and fellow Nashvillian, Al.  The run met on The Great Lawn at Soldier Field.  We were told to do manly, tough pose.  This happened!

IMG_7887

Al raised a huge amount of money for Multiple Sclerosis through the Chicago Marathon.  It made me SOOOO happy to run a little!!! The weather couldn’t have been nicer…40 degrees and sunny!

IMG_7858
Jason and I had to stop for a pic along the Lakeshore path…beautiful!

IMG_7856
The run was hosted by Deena Kastor and Bart Yasso.  I completely geeked out when I got to meet them!

IMG_7857

Jason and I decided to jog back to our hotel and visit the finish line along the way.  I can’t wait to cross it tomorrow!

IMG_7860
My favorite pre-race lunch is oatmeal…big surprise 😉  We (along with the rest of Chicago) went to Yolk for lunch.  It was packed.  I had my oatmeal plus a side of french toast. I’ve never tapered this much or eaten this many carbs.  I’m curious to see if it helps.

IMG_7861
After lunch this happened!!!!  I geeked out…again.

IMG_7862
In an effort to rest, we rented Lucy in our hotel room.

IMG_7863
I was going stir crazy so we left a little early for dinner to stroll down Michigan Avenue

IMG_7884
and of course I managed to do a little shopping…loving the Oiselle Portman Pants!

IMG_7880
Dinner was at Rosebud on Rush

IMG_7875
Where I had this gigantic bowl of pappardelle with tomato basil sauce.

IMG_7878
Sufficiently carbed-up, I went back to the hotel to layout my race gear and sleep!   Tomorrow we run!!!

How do you carb-up before a race?

Do you run the day before your race?

Do you have any pre-race superstitions?

#choosejoy

8 thoughts on “Chicago Day 2: Deena, Bart, and Carbs

  1. One of my superstitions used to be that I would NEVER eat pasta the day before a race because it made me feel too heavy…but I broke that a few weeks ago before a half marathon with no calamitous result. I have to admit that pappardelle looks awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

