Home Again, Home Again, Jiggety-Jig

Does anyone remember that nursery rhyme? I had to google how to spell jiggety. Apparently, there’s an urban dictionary version of the word.  Definitely not what I was looking for!  I digress.

I woke up this morning with a post race swagger. Aka, I can’t walk like a normal person.  My tweet sums it up…

IMG_8021

I wanted to loosen up, so we did a shakeout walk to WildBerry for breakfast…

IMG_8014

IMG_8015

and a walk through Grant Park.

IMG_8016

IMG_8018

We went back to the room, packed, and flew home to Nashville.

When we picked up our puppies, they came home with Halloween bows and scarves 🙂 My husband couldn’t wait to take them off 😦

IMG_8030

My new Saucony Kinvara 5 Kona’s were waiting on me!!!

IMG_8019

I was so excited to wear one of my new Chicago Marathon shirts today!

IMG_8023

We ran a few errands and ended the day with some celebratory froyo!

IMG_8024

We’re having crazy storms in TN this evening!!  After a very full weekend, this rain is going to help me sleep like a champ tonight.

IMG_8025

How long do you wait to run after a race?

Do you wait to wear your race shirts until after the race? I’m kind of supersticious about it.

What’s your favorite froyo flavor and toppings? I got cupcake batter with choc. chip cookie dough on top!!!

#choosejoy

10 thoughts on “Home Again, Home Again, Jiggety-Jig

  1. I’m with you – I won’t wear the shirt until after the race!! I’m even hesitant to buy them unless it’s after the race and it’s gone well 🙂 🙂 My favorite shirts are the ones from races where I had a great run because they invoke happy memories! And I usually wait almost a month before running after a full marathon. Take at least a week totally off, then the next week back to x-training. But I try to give myself quite a while after the race to recover!

    Like

  2. I typically wait 3-4 days before heading out for a post-race run if it’s a 13.1 or 26.2 distance and I only go for an easy 3 miler … VERY EASY. Other distances I’m back at it after just one day of rest.

    Like

  3. Awww! The dog babies looked so cute, though, right?!? Silly daddies… 😉 No, I’m totally with you – I do not wear the shirt until AFTER I’ve finished the race! Seems like some kind of superstition, but I just can’t do it! I’m so glad that you are enjoying some well-deserved time off, Jen! Happy y’all made it home safely!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I usually take a week off after a race. I train year-round, so taking a week off never hurts. If I’m having weird, nagging pains or something, I may take some extra time but after a week I’m usually itching to go!

    You definitely can’t wear the shirt until after the race! I believe in that bad luck too!

    Chicago looks fun! I need to go back and do it again!

    And fro-yo is always a good choice! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

