Friends & Sushi & Bubbles…Oh My!

It was a super fun and full weekend.  Here we go… Friday  (5 Days Post Chicago) Tank, sleeves, and tights might just be the most magical running weather! IMG_8153 Beautiful Run! IMG_8260 I bought lilies for my kitchen that smell amazing:) IMG_8272 And made a new granola recipe…Chewy Maple Granola (my new favorite)! IMG_8249 Saturday (6 Days Post Chicago) I met my friends for a 13 mile run.  I’m trying to reverse taper.  I was still a little sore and 13 was a little too far too soon.  On a positive note, I got to run in my new Saucony Kinvara Kona Edition (LOVE)! IMG_8198 Breakfast after. IMG_8261 Saturday night our friends were hosting a sushi making party.  If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you might remember that we did a smaller version of this at the Cumberland Plateau Stage Race.  It was a blast, so I was so excited to do it again! Our hostess with the mostest, Dar, greeted us with Apple Cider Whiskeys…Fall in a cup! IMG_8262 Cecilia made this spicy garlic edamame.  YUM! IMG_8263 James gave us a great lesson in making rolls. IMG_8264 After our lesson, we split up into teams.  Each team was supposed to make a few rolls and submit your best for judging.  Dar, Laurie, and James had prepped so many wonderful ingredients.  We just had to get creative. IMG_8266 Making rolls is such an art.  My team mostly forgot that we were competing and just ate our rolls:) IMG_8265 Here are the finished products ready for judging! IMG_8267 I want to send a huge THANK YOU to everyone for a fun night!! IMG_8271 Sunday I woke up with a cranky knee.  I knew that I shouldn’t run, so my husband and I rode our bikes to breakfast. IMG_8270 Guess what?  More oatmeal…yes I have a problem. IMG_8268 And then went to the gym to lift.  I love that he tolerates my blog. IMG_8269 To end the weekend, we celebrated Lauren’s birthday one more time. IMG_8278 Friends, cake, and bubbles. Life is good!!! IMG_8276 P.S. Alex introduced us to St. George Spiced Pear Liqueur.  We added it to our champagne and it tasted like grown-up apple cider…SO GOOD!  You’re welcome. IMG_8277 Have you made sushi at home? Did you race or long run this weekend? Share!!! Have you ever had a sore knee after a race? I didn’t hurt during the race, but it started to flare up a few days after. Weird. #choosejoy

8 thoughts on “Friends & Sushi & Bubbles…Oh My!

  1. Oh, my gosh! Everyone’s sushi looks so pretty; y’all did an amazing job! Love this idea, too! How is your knee? I’m so happy to hear that you are taking it easy and trying to let it rest up; hope you feel better soon.

    Like

  2. I love this sushi making party idea! So fun!!! And I think I need to get my hands on that liqueur and some champagne. Yummm! I love adding St. Germaine to bubbles so I’m sure this would be a hit too.
    I ran my first full this past weekend and it was awesome. My right leg cramped up really bad in the last 4 miles so yesterday and today have been a battle. I feel like a 90 year old lady walking around. I have a 5k race planned for this weekend so hopefully I’ll feel a little better before that 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

