What’s Next

So…I’m still nursing some Chicago soreness.  Icing my knee seemed like a great time to write this post.

IMG_8297

I even took a rest day yesterday…crazy!  Who am I?!

I’m so glad I did because I was able to run again today. I met my friends on the track. I wasn’t able to do the speed work, but I did log 9 miles jogging around the track. I’ll take it!!

IMG_8284-0

Tomorrow, I’m going to PT for the first time. Even though I’m starting to feel better, I want to be proactive and learn how to stengthen my knee for future races.

This down time has been good to focus on what’s next. Here’s my race schedule through January.

November 23. The Flying Monkey Marathon.  The course is crazy hard.  Hello hills! I’m not doing it with a goal time…just fun (if that’s possible)!

IMG_4236

November 27. Boulevard Bolt. It’s our Thanksgiving 5 miler. My husband and I run it together every year and it’s one of my favorite traditions!

IMG_8296

December 6. St Jude Memphis (half or full). I still haven’t decided which distance I want to run.  It just depends on how my body is holding up:)

IMG_2244

BUT, I am running it as a ST JUDE HERO.  No family or child pays for their medical care, travel, housing…incredible!! The race actually runs through the St Jude campus. It is THE BEST reminder of why we run.  Any donation would be greatly appreciated….just click HERE.  No gift is too small.

IMG_2031

January 3. The Pistol Ultra. I’m running the 50k. This will be my first paved ultra!

IMG_8295

What’s up next for you?

Do you run races for fun or are you always racing?

#choosejoy

15 thoughts on “What’s Next

  1. I wish we had a Thanksgiving run here, but they are all the weekend before! Sounds like you have a busy few months ahead of you – wishing you a speedy recovery so you can get back to training and racing!

    Like

  2. My husband and I do the Bolt every thanksgiving too .. Going on my 14 th year of that race – one of my Fav’s! Hope your knee gets well soon. As a PT myself and a runner that has been injured many times I have learned some rest is Good! And Physical therapy works wonders !! I would not have healed as well without lots of PT :)) my husband calls me The Rehab Nazi !

    Like

  3. I have my first trail race coming up next month. I’m doing it with my husband and am so excited. I think I will put my competitive nature aside and simply enjoy my first race on a trail and see how it’s different than a road race.

    Like

  4. NYC Marathon is next for me. Only a week and a half out now! Then I have NOTHING scheduled. I don’t remember the last time I had nothing planned.

    The Flying Monkey looks crazy! That is ALOT of hills!!

    Hope your knee (and any other lingering pain) gets better soon! PT to be proactive rather than reactive is a great plan!

    Like

  5. I love St. Jude’s; running through the campus is such an amazing experience, right? I can never get through there without my eyes welling up with tears; incredible. Can’t wait to hear how things went at PT; hope you get some good suggestions/answers/info.

    Like

Leave a Reply

