Cookie Confessional

This was the most normal weekend I’ve had in ages and I loved it!!  I needed it!  I feel like life has been a whirlwind since Chicago without my regular routine or my regular energy.  So for now, I’m thankful for business as usual 🙂

Saturday

I joined the Run 4 Others group. Everyone is training for different races.  Dave made a great route so we could start together and you could break off and head back to your car for your mileage.

IMG_9359

And then there were 3.  Roy and Jenn ran the full 20 miles with me and we had a blast!  P.S.  This was the first long run since Chicago with ZERO knee pain…woo hoo!

IMG_9360
Jenn told us the best story about a time when she was really struggling during a run.  She kept having the negative thought, “you’re toast” repeating in her head.  So, she turned it around.  “You’re multi-grain, fortified, whole grain, STRONG TOAST!”  I will forever think of “strong toast” when I’m struggling during a run!

Post-run breakfast of champions…steel cut oats with peaches that my Gran froze during peak season and Coconut Almond Quinoa Crunch…yummo!

IMG_9361

IMG_9363

Getting into the Thanksgiving spirit…

IMG_9373
Sunday

We started a new (free) Sunday morning bootcamp class!  For those in the Nashville area, follow me on facebook for specifics.  This group is no joke.  We started with hill work up a .75 mile climb at a 9% grade.  The view from the top is beautiful!  Then we did an hour of pushups, sprints, mountain climbers, etc…

IMG_9372

It was a tough workout, but I had a blast.  We were fired up to run down the big hill to finish class!

IMG_9378

Alex (on the far right) BQ’d at Monumental a week ago and did this class this morning.  Crazy!

IMG_9377

After class, Jason and I went for a run together.

IMG_9367

While the world is excited about their Red Cups, I’m stoked that Starbucks is brewing the Thanksgiving Blend!!!  It’s my favorite of all of their coffees!

IMG_9371

So here’s my cookie confessional:  

I have a big crush on the vegan chocolate chip cookies from Whole Foods.  Leading up to Chicago, my cookie habit grew from one a day to FOUR!  I don’t care how many miles I run a day, I have no business eating four cookies a day.

IMG_9376

So I’m no longer buying cookies for my house.  If they’re here, I’ll eat them.  Instead, I’ve started making Chocolate Shakeology Shakes.  They taste like brownie batter and are a lot healthier for me than cookies.  (Note: I’m not using them as meal replacements, but as an afternoon snack.)

IMG_9370

IMG_9369
Most importantly, today (November 9th) is National Adoption Day! My sweet husband is adopted and I couldn’t be more grateful for his birthmother and adopted mother:)

What’s your food weakness? Do you keep it in your house?

What’s your next race?  How’s your training going?

What was the best part of your weekend?

#choosejoy

18 thoughts on “Cookie Confessional

  1. I am in love with those vegan chocolate chip cookies, too! Whenever I go grocery shopping, I have to tear my eyes away from the bakery section to prevent myself from going over there. They do taste SO good after a long run, though. When I was in Nashville this weekend I had a great strawberry coconut vegan muffin at ZolliKoffee.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. New follower! I ran Chicago too (and got the same blue and pink top – it’s so soft!). That’s awesome that you have a good group to run with, I’ve been without a running group for awhile and would love to find one. I also am with you on keeping cookies (or anything with chocolate) in the house….if it’s here, I’ll eat it 🙂

    Love your comment on National Adoption Day – my husband and I adopted two boys last fall, so adoption is close to our hearts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are my weakness and anything red velvet! If it’s in the house it’s a goner for sure Jen lol! 🙂 I’m kinda in between training for a race right now I start training for the Gasparilla Distance Classic Half Marathon on or around 11/23 and the race in 2/22/15 and I’ll be looking to beat my recent 5K PR in January and go sub-21.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I go thru phases. Sometimes I eat cookies everyday. Other times it is milk chocolate or dark chocolate. Sometimes ice cream. But regardless of what it is, if its in the house, I’ll eat it. I try not to keep too much junk food in the house, but it happens. Especially this time of year!

    I have no races coming up right now. I don’t remember the last time that happened!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This spring that happened to me. I finished my spring goal race and realized i didnt have another goal race on the calendar. So, i just started training for a fall marathon. I ended up getting into to Chicago, so it worked out 🙂

      Like

  5. Pingback: Birthday No. 24 | Laura in Lou

  6. Pingback: #MilesForRunnerMarx | Jen Chooses Joy

Leave a Reply

