Ode to Oatmeal

IMG_9813

Yes, I wrote an entire post about oatmeal. If you know me or have been reading this blog, you’re not surprised in the least. My preference is for steel cut oats, but any oatmeal will do. It’s such a safe, pre-run meal.  I’ve never had a bad run after eating oatmeal for breakfast.  Even my husband has been converted.

Here are a few of my recent oatmeal escapades…

IMG_9804

Science proves that oatmeal is awesome!

1.  It’s full of soluble fiber which lowers your “bad” LDL cholesterol.  This fiber also makes you feel full for longer.

2.  It has “slow-release” complex carbohydrates.  This keeps it from spiking your blood sugar like refined carbohydrates .  Refined carbohydrates lead to insulin spikes.  When your insulin spikes, your body stores fat.  So, the slow release carbs keep your body from storing fat!

3.  Keeping your blood sugar levels under control also keeps you from reaching for quick sugar fixes…like cookies.

4.  The slow release energy will keep you running strong for your entire run.  Oatmeal eaten 3 hours before a run is the perfect low glycemic meal.

5.  It’s a good source of whole grains.  It keeps you feeling full without the heavy feeling.

6.  A 2009 study in the Journal of Nutrition found that women with higher intakes of nutrient-packed whole grains have lower amounts of total body and abdominal fat.

7.  Beware of the sugar-packed, instant “oatmeal” packages.  It’s best to make plain jane oats and then doctor them up with your favorite toppings!

8.  Speaking of toppings, oatmeal is a great conduit for other healthy foods.  Cinnamon, berries, nuts, chia seeds, and my current favorite oatmeal topping…pomegranate seeds!!!

IMG_9805

And lastly,  a little oatmeal humor.  Yes, if you google oatmeal jokes, they actually exist!

IMG_9808

IMG_9807

Do you share my love for oatmeal?  

What are your favorite toppings?

If not oatmeal, what’s your favorite pre-run breakfast?

#choosejoy

19 thoughts on “Ode to Oatmeal

  1. I have tried oatmeal several times and I just can’t love it! I wish I could though. Sounds so good on a cold morning. I need to try steel cut oats and all the other versions before I give it up.

    Usually before a run I can only stomach a banana or nothing. If I have a lot of time before the run I might eat a bagel!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband and I, both runners, have oatmeal every morning for breakfast. He eats 4 servings, though, so we buy oats by the 50 lb. bucket! He always puts on blueberries, honey, cinnamon and ground walnuts. I like to mix it up, but it’s always with a banana. We are creatures of habit, but don’t fix what’s not broken!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oatmeal … ummmmm YEAH!!! I have some at my desk right now Jen lol!!! I love the stuff and for toppings I like strawberries, bananas, peanut butter chips, honey, and chocolate chips to name some “go-to” toppings 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love oatmeal, especially when it gets cold out! I definitely agree with you on the fact that it seems much more filling than most breakfast foods, and I like that. I love to swirl in some almond butter sometimes, but my favorite things to add are bananas and cinnamon! Love your Ode to Oatmeal!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Steal cut oats, almond butter, banana, and 1/4 cup of whatever trail mix I’ve got. This is my go-to prerace food. Without exception. I recently ran the Portland Marathon and didn’t bring my own oatmeal and couldn’t find any pre-race. I bonked badly at about mile 14. No oatmeal, no long run.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Blueberry Baked Steel Cut Oats | Jen Chooses Joy

Leave a Reply

