Flying Monkey Marathon

I was really nervous for this race!  The Flying Monkey Marathon takes place on the road through Percy Warner Park.  It’s really hilly and the race forecast called for 100% chance of storms.  Here’s how it played out…

I didn’t taper for the race.  My coach (Mark Hadley at Maximum Performance Running) used it as a training run for an upcoming ultra.

Saturday:

I ran 8 easy paced miles.
Packet pickup (love the Hatch Show Print race poster!)

IMG_0131
Pasta dinner

IMG_0132

Sunday Race Day:

5am wakeup, banana bread and coffee,

IMG_0134

And got ready for the race
IMG_0133

IMG_0139

I hid in the car to stay dry until the start.

IMG_0138

Off and on rain for the entire race and an 8am start time.

IMG_0146

I never really looked at my pace.  This was a training run for me and I just tried my best to stay conversational and run by effort.  That was easier said than done on these hills…

IMG_0137

7200 feet of elevation change with lots of fun signs along the way

IMG_0158

IMG_0160

The water stops were run by local running stores and clubs.  It was wonderful to see friends at each stop!  THANK YOU to every volunteer that braved the bad weather!!!!

Here are some of Jobie Williams’ pictures from the Fleet Feet water stop.

IMG_0155

IMG_0157

I was also blessed to have some company during the race.  My husband joined me from miles 11-14 and my friends Corrie and Christi Beth helped me get my butt up the big mile 18 hill.

The hubs snapped these pics during his run with me 🙂

IMG_0140

IMG_0111

Because I had been running conservatively, I felt really strong.  Around mile 20, I decided to step it up a little and had a strong kick to the finish.  I was soaked, but didn’t care.  I was so happy to finish!

Results: 2nd Overall Female (3:54)  

IMG_0141

You can tell I was shocked when I went up to receive my award 🙂  I surprised myself!

IMG_0143

Nutrition:

Gu 15 minutes before the start, mile 7, 14, 21

IMG_0135

Cocogo in my handheld and Gatorade on course.  Use code: JENCHOOSESJOY (all caps) for 10% off at Cocogo.com!

Chocolate protein shake immediately after finishing.

And, some Monkey Cake!!!  The post-race was AMAZING!  Obviously, I was too excited about the cake and forgot to take a picture.

IMG_0142

The whole race was really well organized with plenty of water stops and support.  Percy Warner Park is a gorgeous place to run.  Thanks to Monkey Trent for all of his hard work!!!  The whole day went smoothly.

When Jason asked me what I wanted to eat after the race, the answer was easy.  I had been dreaming of chips and queso the whole time!

IMG_0145

My prize monkey had a front row seat for the car ride.  BEST RACE AWARD EVER!

IMG_0144

And at dinner we celebrated….cheers!!

IMG_0151

Did you race or long run this weekend?  Share!

Do you use races as training runs?  If so, do you start back with your training immediately after the race?  I’m supposed to get back at it tomorrow…fingers crossed.

What’s your favorite post-race food?  I always want Mexican food…it must be a salt thing.

My monkey needs a name!!!!  Do you have any ideas?

IMG_0148

#choosejoy

34 thoughts on “Flying Monkey Marathon

  1. I think Mojo would be a good name for the monkey…you must have had a lot of mojo left to finish strong! I’ve never used a race in training per se, but sometimes I race shorter distances with the purpose of gaining speed off season. I’ve had a few friends do marathons as training runs, though, and have paced them for a bit. I like being the support, too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations!
    I’m from Nashville too, and I’m home for break from college! I’ve never really run much when I’m home, but I’d like to take advantage of the beautiful places here to run. Which ones would you recommend that are also safe to run by yourself?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Woo hoo! You nailed it, Jen! I’m so excited for you! That monkey really is the best prize ever…I like the previous name selection, Clyde; I think I have that stuck in my head now – ha! My grandfather was named Clyde. I had a couple of friends who ran in the race yesterday and they shared some of the pictures along the route – hilarious! At least they’re honest, right? You’re going to be SO ready for the Pistol; great work, girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations! You really beasted that marathon 😀 I’m in awe of the fact that this was an “easy” run for you!! And yes, I think your monkey is the best award ever!!! Leading up to my goal half marathon last spring, I ran two training half marathons with a friend and my sister. It was definitely a confidence boost to know that I could handle the distance with no issues 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Friday Five | Jen Chooses Joy

  6. Pingback: Memphis Bound | Jen Chooses Joy

  7. Pingback: St. Jude Memphis Marathon | Jen Chooses Joy

  8. Pingback: 3,821 Miles | Jen Chooses Joy

  9. Pingback: Pimpin’ Joy and a Pyramid Workout | Jen Chooses Joy

  10. Pingback: Michigan Workout and the Monkey | Jen Chooses Joy

  11. Pingback: #MilesForRunnerMarx | Jen Chooses Joy

Leave a Reply

