St. Jude Memphis Marathon

I got all of my ducks in a row the night before.  (I say ducks because we’re staying at the Peabody…I quack myself up!)

IMG_0769

Saucony Kinvara 5’s, Fleet Feet Racing Kit, Swiftwick Zero Socks, Oiselle Strappy Bra, and Garmin 620

IMG_0770

Amphipod Handheld, Picky Bar, Gu, and Cocogo

Woke up at 5:30 for coffee and banana bread.  I’m superstitious about this pre-race breakfast.

IMG_0768

Met up with my Run 4 Others friends at 7:30!  It’s so fun to do a destination race and still have so many friends.

IMG_0774

IMG_0780

Temps were in the low 50’s with a cold 15mph wind!

The race started at 8am.

After running the Flying Monkey Marathon two weeks ago, I wanted to go out easy.  I started with the 3:55 pace group.  I stuck with them for around 6 miles and realized I wanted to pick up the pace.  I really tried to run this race by feel.  I stayed talkative and gave lots of high-fives!

IMG_0773

IMG_0775

IMG_0778

Here are my splits:

9:10, 8:46, 8:46, 8:27, 8:20, 8:50, 8:44, 8:43, 8:45, 8:35, 8:40, 8:39, 8:33, 8:23, 8:25, 8:26, 8:15, 8:08, 8:12, 8:16, 8:04, 7:58, 7:51, 7:52, 7:37, 7:34

IMG_0616

You get to run through the St. Jude campus at miles 5 and 24.  I teared up both times feeling such gratitude for my health.

Finish Time: 3:41:42

IMG_0772

I got really cold immediately after the race…probably from the strong wind.  I took a hot shower and ate pretzels in bed.

IMG_0776

I loved getting to wear some of my race swag afterwards:)

IMG_0779

I always crave chips and dip after a race (must be a salt thing) so I inhaled this spinach dip…

IMG_0782

over a glass of wine!

IMG_0781

Nutrition:

Gu 15 minutes before the race and then at miles 8, 15, and 21.

Cocogo in my handheld and sports drink at the water stops on the course.

Muscle Milk immediately after the race for recovery.  It’s not my usual, but it got the job done.

**I walked every water stop…still haven’t mastered the pinch the cup running technique.

Can you drink and run at the water stops?

What’s your favorite recovery/protein food and drink?

Do you have a reward food after you race?

#choosejoy

37 thoughts on “St. Jude Memphis Marathon

  1. Awesome job!! Your splits looked great! What shorts do you wear? I’m in the market for a nice black pair and can’t seem to find anything i love. So frustrating- Also, does your shoulder/arm ever cramp up from racing with your hand held? I ran with mine in Chicago and could barely lift my arm over my head hours after the race:( I typically try and run through the water stops for fear if I stop and walk, I may not get started. I think that all goes away with experience though:) Fantastic job! Love following your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen, if I try to run through the water stop, all of the liquid seems to fly out of my cup – ha! Not so nice for the runners around me and kind of defeats the purpose! Congratulations on a great race and a PR, woman – woo hoo! You are on fire! Couple of quick questions, if you don’t mind…I have the same handheld bottle you do; are you fitting all of your GUs/Huma in that pocket? I would love to run with less “stuff;” did my 20-miler with a FuelBelt yesterday, but not sure I want to wear it through the marathon. Also, I see you have headphones on; are you running with your phone? If so, where did you put it? I’m trying to make a plan for the race, as you can see. Thanks so much for your help and I’m so excited for you! Woo hoo!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post!! Amazing splits too!! I usually run with my Nathan hydration vest filled with my Cocogo. That way I won’t choke while trying to drink. That banana bread looks delicious! Do you have a good recipe to share?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome job Jen!!! I have mastered the run/drink skill. And my post race food reward … a big honkin’ cheeseburger, smoothie, and peanut butter cups or a black and white cookie. Now, a running question for you … was it hard for you to adjust to running with a water bottle? I keep debating on running with one or not to especially for longer races. I know it can be a benefit cause it allows you to fuel with what you want as opposed to what the race provides.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have not mastered running and drinking technique yet! I end up getting half in my mouth and half all over myself. I am anal though and hate stopping to drink. My favorite post race hydration are the nuun hydration tablets (Kroger sells them and super convient) after my race race I enjoy whatever I want but usually my stomach does not agree so I stick to bland foods 👎. Congrats on race! I need your secrets to running high miles. I start running about 35 miles a week and start falling apart! (Dealing with piriformis injury right now) Again congrats!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations on a great race and great way to finish so strong! I still can’t figure that part out, I fall apart at the end. We must have been near each other on the course, I was just ahead of the 3:55 group for awhile, they ended passing me in the last half though. Running through St. Jude’s and seeing what the kids and families go through makes me so grateful for me health and for being able to be out there running. And I can’t seem to drink from a cup on the go either! I can if I use my water bottle (I have the same one as you), but I have to stop if I’m using a cup. Hope your recovery is going well and you aren’t too sore today!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Holy negative splits, Jen!!! I admire that so much – that’s amazing! I have found a pre-race dinner/breakfast that I now religiously eat before each big long run and race. Gluten free pizza the night before and a sweet potato the morning of! Banana bread sounds good though…maybe I’ll give that a try sometime 😉 And I just ran my big marathon this weekend too! I always love to celebrate with oysters, french fries, and usually wine but this time it was beer since the finish was right near Dogfish Head Brewery. How could I not?!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Weekend Update - Running 'N' Reading

  9. I’m practical, rather than efficient. I walk at water stops depending on the weather. You know me well, so you know I’m like Typhoon Blume in the summer. So, in the heat, I will run through the water stop since I’m probably soaking wet anyway. However, on a cold race day, I walk at the water stops. There’s nothing worse than being cold and wet.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: The Friday Five | Jen Chooses Joy

  11. Pingback: Memphis Marathon Recovery and My Birthday | Jen Chooses Joy

  12. Wow–you are speedy. Nice negative split! Really great race review! I’ll be running Nashville RnR marathon for St.Jude in April!! Super exited. I usually just fuel with whatever Gatorade is on hand and my all time favorite post marathon treat is a good burger! So glad I stumbled across your blog. I look forward to following you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Back on Track | Jen Chooses Joy

  14. Pingback: 3,821 Miles | Jen Chooses Joy

Leave a Reply

