My Cure for Post-Race Blues

IMG_0841

I’m suffering from a case of the post-race blues today…blah.

zach-cry

So, here are some funnies to cheer me up…and hopefully you, too!

When people asked me my race goal.

giphy

How I felt at the starting line.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-16041-1377023634-7

During the race.

tumblr_moauqtHNee1r8epnko1_250

At the finish.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-1608-1377019873-24

pug

My post-race appetite.

tumblr_mjgliid9or1s29dslo1_500

indianajones_zpsa9478ed6

And now today….I only had 7 miles on the calendar and wasn’t sure what to do with myself.

tumblr_inline_mxafol2cJ91rg0g8s

It’s about to turn cold again in Nashville, so I have to include this list…thank you Shyla!!

14 Thoughts Every Runner Has During A Cold Run

1. That feeling you get when the first snowflakes of the season start to come down.

firstsnow

2. But then you step outside and realize, wait, maybe I should wear full tights instead.

home-alone-is-a-rly-gud-movie-o

3. You’re a mile in and the regret starts to sink in. Maybe it’s time to turn around now.

regretdecision

4. But then you just start pleading for any kind of help.

dearlord

5. Oops! Patch of ice.

icy

6. You fall and think, “Maybe if I don’t get up, I won’t be hurt.”

thisiswhereidie

7. Everything hurts! You can’t feel anything.

drylips

8. You look down at your watch and you’re not even halfway done.

sedateme

9. Ok, it’s time to turn back.

end

10. You finally get home but are so delirious from the wind, cold, and snow that you can’t see.

cantthink

11. A nice hot shower will feel so good… not!

postrunshower

12. Your friend doesn’t understand why anyone would go out in this weather – especially for a run.

oncrack

13. You try to explain, it really wasn’t so bad.

goodidea

14. Then you look at the calendar and realize it’s still fall.

winteriscoming

from Runner’s World

Alright, that’s enough funny clips.  I cheered myself up A LOT making this one!  Happy Tuesday y’all:)

Do you get the post-race blues?  What’s your cure?  I’m meeting friends on the track in the morning!

Is it cold where you live?  It’s been unseasonably warm here in TN, but it’s about to get colder…eek!

How are you doing on your Christmas shopping/decorating?  I’m still a work in progress.  Hopefully I’ll post some Christmas pics in the next few days!

#choosejoy

22 thoughts on “My Cure for Post-Race Blues

  1. All of the LOLs!

    Truth: I still have the post-race blues, coming down from the marathon two months ago. *le sigh*

    Chicago IS pretty cold!

    I’m still working on things, but online. Everything is from online. GLORIOUS ONLINE.

    Like

  2. The week after a race when I’m running less, I usually bump up my cross training activities, sometimes going into my studio twice a day, because I can’t sit still! It’s getting chilly in Louisville today, so hot yoga feels extra fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s still really warm in KS too. I think its supposed to stay warm the rest of this week. I’m actually ready for it to feel like winter, I like the cold.

    I have finally gotten to the point where I can enjoy the taper and the post race rest period. After a few days I start to get antsy to start training again though!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for taking time to read it!! I don’t work anymore. I used to work in the music business, but I’ve been a housewife for the last few years. It gives me plenty of time to run and blog:)

      Like

  4. Bahahaha I’m soooo glad I had no fluids in my mouth while reading/watching this post Jen or I would have spewed it all over my computer lol 🙂 those are hilarious!!! No worries chica, you’ll be back to running those longer training runs and marathon training again before you know it!!! Annnnd yesssss the cold has come to Florida and will be here for a while … highs in the low to mid 60’s and lows in the upper 30’s to low 40’s. I’m loving it perfect for running though my knuckles and fingers what to lock up on those longer cold runs haha lol. Again, loved your post today Jen!!! It made my day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love those Corgi GIFs. I love those dogs!

    I don’t usually get post-race blues, and I don’t know why. I think it’s because I’m always registered for a race, so I always have something to look forward to.

    The weather here in the Pacific NW has been strange lately. It was bitterly cold last week and then today it was 55 degrees on my early-morning run. I actually wore a tank this morning!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. THIS. WAS. HILARIOUS!!! Seriously made my day. All of this applies to me!! Haha. Also, I’m with you on these post-marathon blues. I was sore until yesterday, so I’m thinking of heading out for a short 3-miler easy run today – my first post-marathon run!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Hercules, Hercules! | Jen Chooses Joy

Leave a Reply

