Watercolor Weekend

It has been a gorgeous weekend in Watercolor!

Saturday:

Sunrise from our balcony…

IMG_1720

And running around Western Lake…

IMG_1722

IMG_1721

IMG_1656

I logged 9 miles and then we hit the gym for some weights.

IMG_1725

Big salad for lunch and a side of fries, because it’s vacation!

IMG_1726

Italian for dinner at Borago, because it’s not too soon to start carb loading for next weekends race, right?!

IMG_1727

IMG_1728

This was the yummiest mushroom ravioli!

IMG_1729

Sunday:

Sunday’s high temp: 75 degrees!!!

We headed over to the Watersound to see our favorite dunes.

IMG_1695

IMG_1732

17.5 miles, but a couple of those were strolling on the beach:)

IMG_1724

IMG_1734

I loved the morning fog.

IMG_1735

Visited the Watercolor Farmer’s Market.

IMG_1733

We had lunch at the beach club grill where I found a brussels sprouts and butternut squash salad…so good!

IMG_1736

After lunch, we hopped on our bikes to tool around:)

IMG_1741

A pre-dinner pic:)

IMG_1737

One of the best parts about staying at the Watercolor Inn….nightly cookies with your turndown service!!!

IMG_1731

 

What’s your favorite dish at an Italian restaurant?

When do you start carb loading for a big race?

What’s your favorite beach?

#choosejoy

19 thoughts on “Watercolor Weekend

  1. I don’t carb load for races. It doesn’t really work unless you deplete your body of carbs first, then switch and do high carbs, which most people don’t, myself included, I don’t have the will power to give them up! I do usually eat the same foods the few days/week before the race because I know they don’t upset my stomach. Pasta is usually eaten several times the week of the race!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those pictures are beautiful! Looks like you’re having a lovely vacation. I don’t think it’s too soon to start carbo-loading πŸ˜‰ As long as it’s not every night now… haha. Before a marathon, I’ll start carb-loading two days before πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Favorite beach/beaches are in St Agustine, FL and I actually really never go heavy on Carbo loading. And I forgot to mention the other how much I love running on boardwalks and your vacay spot seems to be loaded with them πŸ™‚ nice pics too by the way! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t necessarily carb load before a race, I’m more just mindful of not eating anything too bizarre for the two days leading up to it. And, I might reach for the candy a little more often than usual. He he.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful pics! What an amazing trip!! I’m sure it was hard to leave πŸ™‚
    For my last marathon I started carbo loading the last 3-4 days before the race. One thing that I didn’t do this time was have pasta at dinner the night before the race. I had pasta at lunch and a light dinner.
    My favorite pasta at an Italian restaurant is Linguini Frutti di Mare
    Favorite beach… that’s a tough one! I would say Madaket Beach in Nantucket or El Matador beach in Malibu.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The pictures from your trip are beautiful. My husband and I are in need of a vacation and this resort looks perfect.
    My last few races I’ve gone high fat for the 5 days leading up to race day. Then I add more carbs the last 2-3 days prior to the race. My go to pre-race meal is salmon, white rice with soy sauce and grilled vegetables. Good balance of protein, fat, carbs and sodium.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

