3,821 Miles

This has been one of the happiest years of my life.  I’ve said it a million times…I am not an exceptional runner, but I run for the joy of it.  My friends truly made this a joyful year.  Thank you!

My 2014 goals were:

1.  To log my miles for the first time ever…with a goal of 2,014 mile.
2.  Run more races than ever with the Fleet Feet Race Team with a goal of getting more comfortable with road      marathons.
3.  Become a pacer for the Fleet Feet Country Music Marathon Training Program
4.  Start a blog.

Here’s how it played out…

January

IMG_1951

February

IMG_1950

Race: The Seaside Half Marathon

March

IMG_1949

April

IMG_1948

Race: Country Music Half Marathon Pacer

May

IMG_1947

Race: Achilles International 5 Mile

June

IMG_1946

Race: The Franklin Half Marathon

The Moon Pie 10 Mile

Jackal Trail Marathon

July.  I hit my 2014 goal and celebrated accordingly!

IMG_1945

IMG_1944

Race: Brentwood Firecracker 5k…my first 5k!

August

IMG_1943

Race: Cumberland Plateau Stage Race

September: I started JenChoosesJoy!

IMG_1942

Race: Franklin Classic 10k and 5k

And…I became an RRCA Coach!

October

IMG_1941

Race: Chicago Marathon

November

IMG_1940

Race: The Flying Monkey Marathon

Boulevard Bolt Thanksgiving 5 Miler

December

IMG_1939

Race: St. Jude Memphis Marathon

I am really proud of that total: 3, 821!  I followed a bunch of Mark Hadley’s training plans and he got me through a lot of races!

IMG_1790

2015 Run Goals

1. I was fortunate to make the Fleet Feet Racing Team again…woo hoo!
2. I’m going to pace a training group for the Fleet Feet Country Music Marathon 4 hour group.
3. Run and write for the Rock ‘N’ Blog Team.
4. I’m going to log my miles again, but I’m hesitant to set a goal.  I want to listen to my body and see where it leads.  4,000 miles would be great, but that depends on how I’m feeling.

Blog Goals:

1. Continue to grow JenChoosesJoy by posting 6 times a week.
2. Move to a self-hosted site with ads.
3. Make #choosejoy shirts to raise money for St. Jude.  🙂

2015 Races:

1. Pistol Ultra…although as I type this, I have a tight Achilles and I’m on the fence about racing 😦
2. Boston Marathon
3. Seattle Half or Full
4. Franklin Classic 10k
5. New York Marathon
6. Flying Monkey Marathon
7. Boulevard Bolt
8. St. Jude Memphis Half or Full

And, because I like to aim high…

IMG_1920

I hope you ALL have a very Happy New Year!!!

IMG_1252

What was your 2015 running highlight?  Mine was a surprising 2nd overall female finish at the Flying Monkey Marathon!

What was your best lesson learned?  I don’t need to race 3 marathons and 1 ultra within 3 months.  I’m exhausted!

How did you ring in the New Year?  Pizza and champagne with my husband at home…perfection:)

30 thoughts on “3,821 Miles

  1. I’m so proud of you for all you did in 2014, and I was inspired by running with you and getting to know you this year. Those are great goals, and I know that you can achieve them. I really like the sponsored site goal, and I like expanding the site and its outreach to raise money for St. Jude! Way to go, Jen!

    As for me, I fell short of a few goals. I wanted to run three fulls this year, and I didn’t do it. I ran one. I am going to set a mileage goal this year, though. 2,015 seems a bit high, but I’m going to think about it today. I also plan on setting a speed goal. *gasp* That’s right, I said it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! Sounds like you had an awesome 2014, and have great things ahead! I’m doing Boston and NYC this year, too, and after some time off due to a huge family move last year, I am ready to get back after it with a vengeance in 2015. Thanks for the big dose of inspiration! We run similar volumes. I will follow your journey this year. Happy new year!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, you’re inspiring, you incredible woman! We should meet up if you come over to Seattle for the half or full! I only live 2 hours away. My husband just ran the Seattle marathon. It’s a doozy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Since you’re making shirts, I would love if you were able to make some moisture-wick tech run tanks with the #choose joy…I’d be first in line to buy that…just a thought:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on a wonderful year!! The 2nd place finish in the marathon is awesome!
    Love your 2015 goals – you will rock it for sure! 🙂
    Hope you have a happy rest of the day!
    Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I still can’t believe your miles…crazy! I can’t imagine that many – good for you! I’m hoping to increase my mileage this year, around 1700 miles is what I’m aiming for.

    Running highlight was running NYCM. I’ve been registering since 2009, so it was a relief to finally get in, even though I ran the race injured and it was my slowest race to date.

    I rang in the new year by going to a movie with my husband and then stopping by my brother and SIL’s house to hit midnight with them and their kids!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ummmm I’m thinkin’ you didn’t just crush that 2014 mileage goal Jen but you pulverized into fine powder!!! 😉 Amazing job chica!!! And you are more than an exceptional runner. You work ethic is amazing and inspires us all!!! Can’t wait to see what goals you shatter in the coming months!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

