Weekend Wrap-Up

IMG_2341

First things first, pour a cup of coffee and let’s catch up:)

IMG_2352

Like many of you, we had some cold weather in Nashville.

IMG_2343

I saw this little gem floating around social media.  Crass…yes.  Hilarious…yes.

IMG_2342

IMG_2340

Thursday:

My heart is always happy when I meet up with The Breakfast Club!

IMG_2353

Followed by some time on the Devil Bike.  That’s my pet name for the stationary bike while my Achilles heals.

IMG_2347

Friday:

The devil bike is relatively new to me. I’m pretty sure this is an example of what NOT to do…

In my defense, that hill was kicking my butt!

IMG_2359

I made this yummy PB&J smoothie!  It has frozen berries, Vega Bodacious Berry Smoothie Mix, Chobani Greek Yogurt, a splash of almond milk, and Coco-Nut Butter…SO GOOD!

IMG_2351

Saturday:

It was cold!

IMG_2346

I was so excited for to kick-off Country Music Marathon Training with my Fleet Feet group!  Pacing is my favorite way to run:)

IMG_2350

IMG_2349

Here’s a post on Reasons to Train with a Group and another on Guidelines for Leading a Group Run.

Followed by some core work…

IMG_2348

I finalized my Rock N Roll Marathon Series Races.

IMG_2344

I wanted to do so many of them, but these are the races that worked for my schedule: Country Music, Virginia Beach, and Vegas Baby!

Sunday:

While recovering, I’m running less and thought this was a great time to try my hand at pull-ups.  Guess what, I can’t even do a chin up.  I’m sure you’re shocked.  Here’s my first attempt (with a boost) and yes I was stuck.

IMG_2360

I’m inspired to get a pull-up bar for my house, because obviously I have my work cut out!

And I ended the day with a slice of chocolate cake from Whole Foods!!

IMG_2363

Do those door frame pull up bars work?

Can you do a chin up or pull up?  Tips?

Do you make smoothies at home?  What’s your favorite?

What was the peak and pit of your weekend?  Peak: Getting to pace the marathon training group!  Pit: My Achilles still hates me.

#choosejoy

IMG_2345

15 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. ohhh yummy chocolate cake!!! Looks like you had a busy jam-packed week Jen. I love all the different ways you are keeping yourself busy and fit through your injury. Poo on that Achilles chica! I can’t wait until we are both completely 100% again for real!!! This is getting old!!! And yes, I can do pull-ups but I have no real secrets just continue to work at it you’ll get better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh and regarding your smoothie question … yes I love smoothies and do make them at home. I’ve gotten away from it over the last couple months and need to get back to it. I love trying different combos with smoothies but I love using peanut butter as one of my main ingredients. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your pictures made me laugh! I love the warning about Sunday turning into Monday. No, I can’t do a chin up. And for smoothies, I love green ones because I don’t ever eat enough vegetables; it’s easier to drink them. Orange juice, blueberries, frozen kale. That’s it! Nothing special.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We have a pull up bar that uses pressure points to stay up, so you can move it to different doors and not put holes in your wall. I was skeptical at first but it really does work! I still can’t do a pull up though! That’s one of my new years goals, I just want to be able to do ONE by the end of the year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I, too, have been spending quality time with the devil bike and devil elliptical. I made it my goal to do one pull-up last year and did it by hanging a pull-up bar in my bathroom. Every time I went in I had to try at least one!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have a pull up bar in my home gym. I did my first pull up two years ago at the community gym. I was so excited, I jumped up and down! The pull up assist tubing helps some. But practice, practice, practice and you will do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This picture of you, “stuck” on the chin-up bar, is priceless! That would definitely be me – ha! 😉 I’m so excited to hear that you’ve made your race selections for the Rock ‘N’ Roll series; you’ll be back to it in no time, Jen. The “devil bike” will keep you fit, in addition to your group training runs…and cake. I hope your Monday is going well, so far!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hope you enjoy Virginia Beach! I went to college about an hour away from there and my first race ever was actually the Yuengling 8K that ends right on the beach 🙂 I’m not doing Fleet Feet half training this year but I will be at Speed Sessions!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

