Mercury Retrograde is Coming

It’s time for another Mercury Retrograde.  During the last one, I gave my friends a warning that it was coming and they had no idea what I was talking about.  So, I decided to write a little blog post about it.  If you think I’m bananas, that’s totally ok!

IMG_2176

First things first, I grew up with a hippy-dippy, crystals and dream travel mom.  I however, have always been more logical and science based.  I do acknowledge the possible effects of the Mercury Retrograde.

So, what is the Mercury Retrograde?  Sometimes the other planets appear to be traveling backward through the zodiac; this is an illusion. We call this illusion retrograde motion.  Mercury remains in retrograde for 3 weeks.  Mercury rules your intelligence, mind, memory and, all types of communication ranging from talking and texting to writing. It also affects your self-expression, and communication style. In a more public sense, it rules commerce, computers, telephones, transportation and air travel.

2015 Retrograde Dates:

January 21 – February 11
May 19 – June 11
September 17 – October 9

IMG_2178

10 things NOT to do during Mercury Retrograde:

  1. Don’t make agreements.  Especially avoid signing legal documents.  Retrograde is a time of miscommunication.
  2. Don’t accept or start a new job.  There could be changes in the position and by the time you start work, it might not resemble the initial job description.
  3. Don’t try to close the sale.  You’re more likely to face delays.
  4. Don’t initiate new projects.  People are more likely to oppose or not understand your vision.
  5. Minimize the scheduling of meetings.  During this time, conflicts are more likely to arise.
  6. Limit your travel.  You’re more likely to face flight cancellations, postponement, and travel delays.
  7. Don’t purchase computers or begin installations.  Expect glitches and be prepared for hard drives to fail.
  8. Don’t repair your automobile unless necessary.  Obviously, you can’t always avoid auto repairs, but schedule the maintenance work for after the retrograde.
  9. Limit large purchases.  You’re more likely to suffer buyers remorse during this time.
  10. Don’t change your living situation.  Avoid choosing a new roommate or moving homes.

IMG_2175

You get the gist.  This is a time of miscommunication and delays.  If you plan for them, this will be a less stressful few weeks.

Before you hideout like this….it’s not all negative!!

IMG_2179

Here are some of the positives:

Brainstorming.  You are at your most creative and your ideas will take new twists and turns.

Organizing.  This is the perfect time to stay home and sort through old clothes or organize your files.

Reflection.  Problems from your past might have new clarity and resolution.

Planning and research.  New details and information will come to light giving you a clearer understanding of future plans.

Go with the flow.  Life might get a little weird.  It’s great to focus on patience and staying relaxed.

According to The Farmer’s Almanac, “Intuition is high during these periods, and coincidences can be extraordinary.” Enough said. Be prepared for something unexpectedly amazing to make its way into your life.

IMG_2180

  1.  plan for delays
  2. postpone major purchases and life decisions
  3. put your energy into planning and organizing
  4. AND back-up your hard-drive!

IMG_2182

What do you think?  Does Mercury Retrograde exist?

Do you make any changes during the Retrograde?  I always allow for travel/traffic delays.

Since, I’m on a hippy-dippy kick…What’s your sign and do you think it accurately describes
#choosejoy

17 thoughts on “Mercury Retrograde is Coming

  1. Jen, I used to work with a wonderful lady (a jewelry designer – very creative) who studied astrology and would make us charts and all sorts of things; it was very interesting and I miss it. Not that I read your post, I do remember her talking about the periods of retrograde; I think it’s definitely something to make note of, just in case. 🙂 I am a Cancer and I do think it describes me pretty well. 😉 What is yours? Thanks for this fun post today!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I happen to adore your hippy dippy kick side. I’ve never heard of mercury retrograde but I’m fascinated! I automatically compared it to when I am overtired and feeling emotionally fragile but then when I got to the list of positives, I’m not sure I’d be able to be creative and organized when I’m tired so I think that’s where my comparison broke down. 🙂 Such a cool post, Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yikes – seems like a long period of time to have to watch for miscommunications, etc. Hopefully the period is more about the positive than the negative 🙂

    I’m a Libra and I think in some ways it accurately describes. I do have a love of beautiful things and can be pretty indecisive at times.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting & learned something new so thanks for sharing:) I’m a Scorpio & the description is fitting 😉
    Determined & intuitive
    On the dark side……
    Compulsive & obsessive

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh man, so I just read this this afternoon and admittedly probably would have dismissed it typically but …. there is NO OTHER WAY to describe today. Seriously. So this actually makes me feel much better that there’s some sort of explanation, haha!

    I’m an aquarius and it had been awhile since I’d thought about it but now you’ve got me hooked on this train of thought so I googled it and I think I fit right in on the positive and negative – friendly, loyal, independent, stubborn, unpredictable, inconsistent …. (a couple personal development points in there ;))

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gemini and I’m like the description in a lot of way. I’m also very much not like it in some ways….of course it probably depends on where you look it up too! (and aren’t there other affecting aspects like time of day you were born….) I believe Gemini is ruled by Mercury in some way – not sure if that makes the effect better or worse (if it’s worse, don’t tell me).

    Not sure I believe in the retrograde effect, but the prior office manager at my chiro really did and talked to me a lot about it. Seems like there were many more such periods last year.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: 7 Years, No Itch | Jen Chooses Joy

  8. I didn’t know about the retrograde but I am sure there are unforeseen powers that effect our world… Very interesting article. I am astrological cancer sign and it is right on spot for describing me and my personality traits. I love to know people’s sign as I think it tells you buckets of info about that person. At work i have learned that I work best with Aries. They have strengths I am weak in and I have strength they lack… Perfect work team.
    My hubby is Gemni and we have been married 18 years and we are still crazy in love! #blessed and #loved

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

