Pimpin’ Joy and a Pyramid Workout

This week I’m still easing back into my regular running schedule.  The plan is to run Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Saturday.  Hopefully next week, I’ll be back to my normal training schedule!

Monday: Ground Hog Day

IMG_3514

IMG_3516

IMG_3517

20 miles on the spin bike and weights in an empty gym.  I guess the resolution folks made it to February.

IMG_3519

It was also Red Velvet Oreo Day…

IMG_3520

I don’t really keep my medals, but it was fun to receive this one in the mail.  I got it for running as a St. Jude Hero in the Country Music and Memphis Marathons.  It’s some huge Mr. T-style bling.

IMG_3536

Tuesday:

Our Track Tuesday workout was a Pyramid Workout.  It was also my first time doing speed work since I injured my Achilles.

4 mile warm-up/strides

400m at 5k pace (30 second recovery)
800m at 10k pace (60 second recovery)
1200m at 1/2 marathon pace (90 second recovery)
1600m at marathon pace (400m recovery)
1200m at 1/2 marathon pace (90 second recovery)
800m at 10k pace (60 second recovery)
400m at 5k pace

1 mile cool down

IMG_3522

My tights matched my Cocogo bottle.  Use code: JENCHOOSESJOY (all caps) to save 10% off your order.  My girlfriends and I wore the same Asics Storm Shelter Jacket (without planning it), and I hit all of my pace goals!!

I am loving the new Run Y’all shirt from Fleet Feet!  Y’all next time I’ll powder my face before I take a pic…hello shine!

IMG_3523

For dinner I had this One-Pan Mexican Quinoa.

IMG_3524

Because it was Taco Tuesday and February is the month of love…

IMG_3525

Wednesday:

I joined my friends for a run in Percy Warner Park.  We lovingly refer to it as the Monkey Run because it’s on the super hilly Flying Monkey Marathon course.

IMG_3527

How perfect is my new Pimpin’ Joy t-shirt?!

IMG_3529

I got into the BAA 5k!  Big thanks to Heather Kralj for making sure I registered quickly.  Heather is a Boston Marathon veteran and has really helped me plan my trip.  She’s on the Fleet Feet Racing Team with me and she has a new blog: YourLifeWontWait.  Check it out!

IMG_3537

Thanks to Shyla for sharing that Starbucks will be offering another dairy-free alternative…coconut milk!

IMG_3528

And lastly, I thought my friends to the north would appreciate the big hullabaloo (not a word I use enough) over our snow forecast tonight.  Nashville really will shut down over a dusting.

IMG_3526

Were you able to find the new Red Velvet Oreos?  What do you think?  I may or may not have friends with stock piles!

Will you try the Coconut Milk at Starbucks? I usually get soy milk and am happy to have a healthier option.

What’s your regular Starbucks order? I get a tall blonde soy misto:)

#choosejoy

Don’t forget that you can save $15 off ALL Rock n Roll Half and Full Marathons with code: JENCHOOSESJOY

IMG_3322

18 thoughts on “Pimpin’ Joy and a Pyramid Workout

  1. Ohhhhh red velvet oreo’s!!!! Glad to hear that Achilles is better and you hit you goal times Jen!! It seems that all us wounded runners are finally starting to heal yay! 🙂 I still have a little ways to go but I’m seeing improvement with my hammy and glute as well. An empty gym eh’ yep! my gym has started thinning out too

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen, I am not dairy-free but I certainly appreciate the fact that they recognize folks needs and are opening up the options; that’s great! You know, I have NEVER tried a Red Velvet Cake Oreo; this seems like a travesty that I am going to have to resolve…quickly. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I want both of those cute tees! I’ll def try the dairy free option. Moo milk never settled well with my belly anyway. Too bad I already registered for Nashville RnR! Can I get retroactive $15 off?! Lol just kiddin! So glad to hear you getting back at the running!! Exciting stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That mexican quinoa looks delish! I can’t wait to try it. I love that Starbucks will be offering coconut milk. I always order a latte with soy or a frap depending on the weather. There are so many awesome races as part of the RnR series. Who can decide?! I’m already doing the Nashville RnR half, but maybe somewhere more of a race-cation. Oh the choices!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

