Mile Repeats and No Boundaries

Monday:
IMG_5365
Got up super early to meet friends for a 6 miler.  I love the Nike Flash tights when it’s dark out.
IMG_5368
IMG_5367
I hit the treadmill for 4 more miles afterwards.
IMG_5366
For dinner I made a Baked Mushroom Marsala and it was SOOO good!  I’ll have the recipe typed up shortly.
IMG_5364
Track prep for Tuesday.  (My 100m splits, Chocolate Outrage Gu, and Cocogo)
IMG_5369
Tuesday:
I kicked off the day with a Saladworks $50 Gift Card Giveaway.  It’s not too late to enter…click HERE!
IMG_5031
Tuesdays are for running track!
5 mile warmup
4 x 1600m (1 minute recovery) (Goal: 7:27.  Actual: 7:27, 7:28, 7:27, 7:18)
1 mile cool down
IMG_5371
Afternoon dentist appointment…boo, but I am cavity free!
IMG_5377
For dinner, I met up with J for Mexican, because…wait for it….it’s Taco Tuesday!
IMG_5380
We are having the craziest weather in TN right now!  60’s, storms, and they just issued a Winter Weather Advisory.
IMG_5379
I met up with the Fleet Feet No Boundaries Group for a soaked 3.5 miles!  This group is really amazing!!  Many of them are training for their first 5k or 10k and they showed up in crappy weather on a Tuesday night to train together.  I had a ball!!!
IMG_5389
I was a soggy bird machine!
IMG_5393
I’m still not eating desserts.  Yes, I miss the sweets.  However, I am loving my Joy Jar!  I keep it in my kitchen so I can always see it.  I write down something that I’m grateful for at the end of each day.  It’s such a lovely reminder that life is good.
IMG_5378
How are you doing with Lent?
Who got into the NYC Marathon?  I’m in!
Was your first race a 5k or 10k?  How many years since you ran your first race?

35 thoughts on “Mile Repeats and No Boundaries

  1. We have still not eaten out since before Lent. So far, so good!

    I didn’t enter NYC this year. I don’t know that I’ll try again, I love NYC but it wasn’t my favorite race. I am glad I got to experience it once though! Glad you got in!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For lent I am giving up sugar. Peanut M&M’s are my biggest weakness! Oh and cookies…. I have been doing good though. I am adding stretching/yoga for lent too. I am not a good stretcher after a run, this has been good for me. My first race was in 2010, the Pocatello,Idaho Run the Gap Half Marathon. This started me on the path to love running!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on the NYC marathon entry!!! How exciting!! And love the joy jar idea!! What a wonderful reminder to be grateful for all of our blessings! I’m still staying strong to no candy during Lent, which is getting easier day by day. Hopefully by Easter, I won’t crave it so much! Love your blog! Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re in NYC?! Congrats!!! I will aim to be there cheering again 😀
    So much amazingness in this post, but I especially love your Joy Jar idea. I know I’m grateful for so many things from day to day, but it’d be good to have all of it written down to look at and remember every so often.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. JEN! I’m so excited for you! NYC is going to be so awesome; I’m so glad you’re going because I know you’ll take lots of great pics and tell us all about it – I can live vicariously! 😉 The ice and snow are coming back AGAIN tonight – ugh! I’m so over it; I know y’all are, too. My first race (outside of my HS track experience) was a Race for the Cure 5K in October 2003; I can’t believe it’s been that long! Hope you’re having a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That mushroom marsala looks delicious! Have you pinned that recipe? If not you must 🙂 and aren’t you too cool for school ha! Shades for the dentist office lol. And the NYC Marathon woohoo!!! I know most runners obsess over Boston but NYC has been my dream race for years. Please run a mile for me. My first race was a 5K back in December 2008 and after it became an addiction … running, racing, and training 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You always post such yummy looking food.!!

    and my first race was back in 6th grade and I ran a 3k. haha which was standard for 6th grade cross-country. Which was almost 11 years ago.!! omg I didn’t realize it had been so long. wow.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations on getting into NYC! My first race was the Bulldog Jog 5K at Butler when I was a freshman…that was 2010. I feel like I’ve raced every other distance since then…except the marathon. PS- I am looking forward to that recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. yay and congrats on nyc! that is so cool, totally on my race wish list one day 🙂
    i ran my first 5k when i was 17 yrs old… um a LONG time ago, like 96′ whoa feeling old now lol. anyhow, my bf at the time was a track runner and motivated me to do it. i trained all summer and it was such a big deal that i was able to run it 27 minutes! after it was over i was like, “done, check!” haha funny. i didn’t run in a race again till i signed up for a sprint tri in 2005. crazy! i only casually ran before that because i just always loved running and still do 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I found you from HRG’s page and had to stop by – I love the “choose joy’! I have heard my SIL say it a few times and have kind of stolen it for myself 🙂 The Joy Jar is a fantastic idea – I might have to “steal” that one too! Thanks for sharing! ~Brandi

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Congrats on getting into the NYC Marathon! That will be a fun race 🙂

    My first race was a marathon relay race 4 years ago. No one on my team knew how to train for such an event so needless to say we struggled throughout and were in pain for days after. But it was still a fun time and motivated me to sign up for another race – and this time actually train for it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

