BRICK Workout & I’m a Hero!

 Tuesday: St. Patrick’s Day!
IMG_6459
I kicked off the day with a tough Brick Workout on the track!  Do you love my super-fancy graphics?!
IMG_6461
The point of this workout is to run faster on tired legs.  I really had to dig deep and push.
4 mile Warmup and Drills
2 x 1600m at threshold pace (60 second rest)
4 x 800m at interval pace (400m recovery jog)
2 x 400m at fast pace (400m recovery jog)

 

I went to Perch for crepe and coffee after!!
IMG_6460
Was it an Irish coffee???  I’ll never tell!
IMG_6462
I met Jason for a quick dinner at Moe’s (yes, I cheated on Chipotle…shhh).
IMG_6463
And we ran with the Fleet Feet No Boundaries group!  If you’re wanting to complete your first 5k or 10k…this is your group!!!
IMG_6365
Fun mail from St. Jude because I’m running the Country Music Marathon as a hero!
IMG_6466
Wednesday: 
Kicked off the day with a run through Percy Warner Park!
IMG_6467
Birthday baking for a wonderful friend’s birthday.  Brown sugar oatmeal raisin cookies!
IMG_6468
And for dinner, I made a one-skillet gnocchi…so good!  I’ll post recipes shortly!
IMG_6469
Here’s a link to my St. Jude Hero Fundraising Page.  Please consider making a donation…no amount is too small!
Thanks to donors like you, no family ever receives a bill from St. Jude for anything, including treatment, travel, housing and food.
St. Jude is working to drive the overall survival rate for childhood cancer to 90%, by 2020. They won’t stop until no child dies from cancer.
Treatments invented at St. Jude have helped push the overall childhood cancer survival rate from 20 percent to 80 percent since it opened 50 years ago.
IMG_6465
I hope you have a very Happy Thursday!!!
IMG_6471
Do you ever use your races to raise money for charity?  Which one is your favorite?
What’s your favorite cookie?  Crunchy or chewy?
What did you have for dinner last night?

#choosejoy

20 thoughts on “BRICK Workout & I’m a Hero!

  1. I like a cookies that have a good crunch on the outside but are soft on the inside. Yum!

    We did a homemade pizza with all the veggies in our fridge for dinner last night. It was awesome!

    How long do people have to donate to your St. Jude page?

    And your one skillet gnocchi…omg. Counting down the minutes til you post that recipe! Have a great day Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I ran my first Chicago marathon for a charity. I hoped it would keep me accountable. It did. But I hated hitting up my friends and family for money. I think people are just tapped out. It was a lot of extra pressure too. I may have to consider it again, if I don’t get into Chicago this year…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love gnocchi! Can’t wait to see that recipe- it looks amazing. I’ve never run for a charity, but I’m planning to run for the Humane Society where I volunteer in my next marathon! I’m definitely a chewy cookie person. If it’s crunchy it’s getting thrown out!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. St. Jude is awesome! As are cookies of all kinds and sizes.

    My son and I are charity climbing this weekend, doing the Fight for Air Climb for the American Lung Association (http://www.fightforairclimb.org). Because we are badasses (snort), we’re doing the Ultimate Climb, which means we see how many times we can climb 94 flights of stairs in an hour. It’s gonna be a blast!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’d love to run for charity one day and St. Jude’s is such a great cause to run for.
    Chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are my absolute favorite – the ones from your picture look mighty delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Favorite cookies ummm … chocolate chunk and I’m all about the chewiness haha! I’m not into crumbs. Oreo’s are the only exception 🙂 Dinner last night … homemade taco salad. And I must try one of these brick workout one day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Charity running is actually what got me Into running! I ran my first race for As Our Own, a non profit that rescues girls from sex trafficking in India.

    I’m definitely a chewy cookie person… I love subways white chocolate macadamia nut cookies!!

    Last night for dinner I had stir fry and some ice cream 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have never raised money for a charity while training for a race; I’ve run races that benefit charities, but that’s about it. I love chewy cookies – GAH! Let’s see…last night we had stir fry veggies with eggs and brown rice (no meat, aren’t you proud?); unfortunately, I have no idea what we will end up with tonight – ha! 😉 Hope you’re having a great day, Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Have you ever researched these fundraisers and charities? Are you aware that the majority of the money actually goes to admin costs. It’s well known yet people continue to support it. The Red Cross is the best place to donate cause nearly all of proceeds goes towards it’s intentions and necessities. The “research” councils are about nearly a Adam, sadly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

