Holy Week

In February, I wrote a short blog post about Ash Wednesday and Lent.  As the Lenten Season is coming to an end, it makes sense to do a post about Holy Week.

IMG_7138

What is Holy Week?

It is the week before Easter.  Holy Week begins on Palm Sunday and includes Spy Wednesday, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Holy Saturday.  It does not include Easter Sunday which is the beginning of another liturgical week.  Holy Week commemorates the Passion of Christ.  It is solemn and sorrowful, but anticipates the joy of Easter.

Palm Sunday:

IMG_7139

Palm Sunday marks the beginning of Holy Week with Christ’s entrance into Jerusalem where palm branches were placed in His path.

IMG_7129

Spy Wednesday:

IMG_7173

This is the day that Judas betrayed Jesus.  Judas acted as a spy for the Sanhedrin by accepting 30 pieces of silver in return for information that led to the betrayal of Christ.

Maundy Thursday:

IMG_7159

Christ celebrated the Last Supper with His disciples.  Maundy Thursday is the oldest of the Holy Week celebrations.  During the Last Supper, Christ blessed the bread and wine and said to His disciples “love one another, as I have loved you, so you must love one another.”

The church altar is stripped bare and all bells in the church are silent until the Gloria at the Easter Vigil on Holy Saturday.

Good Friday:

IMG_7167

The crucifixion of Christ is commemorated.  No mass is celebrated on Good Friday and it is traditionally a day of fasting and penance.

Holy Saturday:

IMG_7170

Holy Saturday is the final day of Lent and of Holy Week.  It commemorates the day that Jesus Christ’s body lay in the tomb before His resurrection.  It is also known as the Easter Vigil.  An Easter Vigil Mass takes place after sundown on Holy Saturday.

IMG_7163

Easter Sunday!

IMG_7171

Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.  Through the 40 days of Lent, we have prepared ourselves to rise again with Him in new life on Easter.

IMG_7172

Here is a great video: Holy Week in Two Minutes!

IMG_7149

IMG_7162

IMG_7161

IMG_7165

IMG_7156

May you have a blessed week!

22 thoughts on “Holy Week

  1. Thanks for the explanation of Holy Week! I’m Lutheran, and this is a very special and important week for me. It’s always a very solemn and emotional week as well. I appreciate you talking about it, but I have to admit I’m a little uneasy about the comics at the end! I get the humor in them, I just always feel a little weird about jokes dealing with God, especially around such a solemn holiday. To each their own though!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely forgot it was Holy Week until yesterday afternoon. I think that means I have not been putting my focus in the proper places lately (which probably also explains why I’ve been frustrated and feeling unsettled lately, too). Thanks for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had no idea this was Holy Week and what each day meant and I grew up in a Christian family, going to a Christian school and Christian University! I think it’s the difference between Catholicism and evangelical Christianity? Or something? I dunno. Or maybe I paid way too much for my education. ๐Ÿ˜› Ha ha ha! Have a great week, Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was raised catholic, and we never had easter egg hunts, but we did celebrate ash wednestday and good friday every year. Nice to see others talk about the meaning of holidays. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

