March Miles & My Running Favorites

I can tell that it was peak training for Boston this month.  I ran a lot, but I’m feeling really good.  Other than feeling tired, I’m feeling healthy and actually looking forward to my taper! (Read my 12 Taper Tips HERE)

March Miles: 353

YTD: 900

IMG_7359

Montreal Runner Mom tagged me to answer the following questions about My Running Favorites!

I’ve tagged some runners below to get the game going but feel free to join in even without being tagged. Post your own version by answering these questions and adding some of your own before passing it on other fellow runners.

1.  Favorite Running Location?  I love exploring new cities/urban running or trail running.  

IMG_7346

IMG_7344

2.  Time of Day?  I’m 100% an early morning runner.  I obviously love to run, but it also feels so good to get it out of the way.  I’m cranky when I don’t get to start my day with a run.  Sometimes it’s rough starting out in the dark, but it’s so worth it when you get to see the sunrise.

IMG_7345

3.  Ideal Weather?  I love hot weather EXCEPT when I’m running.  For running, clear skies and temperatures in the 40’s is perfection!  It feels cool when you start and just right once you’ve warmed up.

4.  Fuel?

Before: Coffee and a Picky Bar

IMG_7349

During: Cocogo (use code: JENCHOOSESJOY all caps for 10% off) and Gu

IMG_7351

IMG_7350

After: Tart Cherry Juice (read about why HERE) and Cappuccino Svelte

IMG_7353

IMG_7352

5.  Accessories? Garmin 620, Road ID Shoe Tag, Amphipod Handheld

IMG_7354

IMG_7355

IMG_7356

6.  Rewards?  Massage from Franklin Massage Center, desserts, new running clothes, and Champagne!

IMG_7357

What makes a great run for you? Answer the above questions and add some of your own before passing it along and tagging more running friends. 

Running N Reading

Minutes Per Mile

Miles and Blessings

The Athletarian

Sarah Runs 26

Fit & Faithful

Dixie Runs

Fox Runs Fast

Read Head on the Run

Jenny Jen Runs

Overall, how was your March running?

Do you enjoy the taper or have taper tantrums?

Ideal run temperature?

What’s your favorite running reward?

#choosejoy

30 thoughts on “March Miles & My Running Favorites

  1. Nice monthly miles woman!!! You’re a running machine. I’m definitely a 100% morning runner as well. My fav runs are trail. It’s good for the soul! March started out strong and then the last week felt tough. My body was starting to shut down. So I stepped it back a bit. Looking forward to taper! RnRNashville is THIS month! Ideal temp? 40* and sunny with little wind. Favorite reward …. burgers! Haha well only after like super long runs… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoy the taper actually, I know most people don’t but I am usually tired and ready for it by the time I get to that point. I still get antsy, feel a bit out of whack and imagine all kinds of random things are wrong with me. I can’t believe your mileage! Wow! Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this! I hope you don’t mind me stealing it for my blog 🙂

    March was great for me! Kicked off half training and every run was fantastic, even if the weather didn’t cooperate. I didn’t get nearly as many miles as you (that’s insane!) but I did manage to run at least 5 times a week and cross train 2-3 times a week. I’ll take it!

    Massage has got to be my favorite post-run treat. I only splurge after races though. After a regular run I’ll have a beer!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love these kinds of blog posts!! Thanks for the tag! I will work on it today and post later 🙂
    I didn’t get as many miles in this month as I would have liked…but I’m okay with it! It’s always a bit hard for me to find my groove after a marathon. Hopefully April will be better. You totally crushed this month!! I have no idea how you run so many miles. I feel like there isn’t enough time in my day!! I’m impressed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I tell you Jen you are a total mileage monster/boss!!! … MIND BLOWN 😉 and yay to Picky Bars 🙂 I’ll probably eventually upgrade to a Garmin 620 just because of the cool colors alone haha! But right now I’m loving my new Garmin 405 that I got just over a month ago after my Soleus died 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ohhhh poppycock!!! I forgot to answer your questions lol 1) I’ve learned to embrace the taper in my senior years haha! I realize now it only makes me stronger for race day and future races in the long run so I don’t fight them kicking and screaming ha! 2) reward: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups or Red Velvet of course! 😉 and my ideal running temperature … 49 degrees. 49 degrees = a PR fo’ sho’ … every single time lol 😀 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I had 268 miles for the month of March which I’m ecstatic about given that included a week of barely running as I was tapering for an intense 50k that I ended up placing 4th female in! I’m terrible about tapering. I become really bored and anxious. My favorite running temp is about mid 50’s. Favorite running reward is ice cream. I have it so rarely because it destroys my stomach but I always delight in some kind of ice cream treat after a race….and it’s perfect because I know that I have a complete rest day the following day so no worries about GI distress.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yay! Thanks so much for tagging me, Jen! What a great month; I’m so glad you’re feeling good and doing what you love with your awesome group. I will get this post up this weekend – something so fun! I can get through the taper pretty well, but I can’t cut back too much; I have to keep running on my same schedule, and just run shorter distances. Ideal running weather is partly cloudy and mid-40s! I think my March running was okay; I finally finished that darn Little Rock Marathon and participated in two other races with my running club. I know April is going to be BIG for you, and I can’t wait! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. wow i had no idea about the tart cherry juice! but coincidentally i bought some a couple of weeks ago because it just looked amazing. i drank a bunch that week and had it in smoothies. i loved it! well now i just ordered some more from your link because clearly this stuff is magical, and i need magic. the svelte also looks good, i’m always on the lookout for easy recovery drinks besides a latte at SB!
    i was recovering for months from an achilles/calf injury and just started easing into running this month, then all of the sudden i’m doing a half marathon next week, oops! i missed my running club and just run with them on sunday’s, so during the week i’m still keeping it low. 13 miles was my longest run, but i went from 1 mile to 13 pretty fast for me so now my calf is super tight.. hate when i get too excited and do those silly runner mistakes!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: My Running Favorites! | Miles & Blessings

  11. Pingback: Running Favorites - Running 'N' Reading

  12. I am a fairly new runner, so I really enjoy and learn a lot reading the blog posts of others.
    I opened the link regarding sour cherries. I put a small handful of frozen sour cherries in my smoothie after a run, simply because I love cherries. Now that I read that they are an excellent post run recovery aid, I must find some at my health food store.
    All the best at Boston. I will be routing for you from up here in Canada.
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Random Running Fun and Games | Cupcakes and Miles

Leave a Reply

