Boston Birds

I have had a blast in Boston!!! To everyone running…
IMG_8540
Saturday:
I met up with my Fleet Feet Racing Teammate Heather to run the BAA 5k.  We used it as a shakeout run and had a blast.  You get to run the last mile of the Boston Marathon and cross over the finish line.  It gave me goosebumps and made me even more excited for the marathon.
IMG_8541
We went over to the Nike Store where we may or may not have stalked Shalane Flanagan to get a picture….totally worth it!
IMG_8542
Boston has beautiful daffodils placed all over the city to lift the spirits of the community and support the marathon and Boston Strong.  They’re lovely! 🙂
IMG_8550
I also got to meet Lauren (@LOFLO77).  We’ve been Instagram friends and I love her blog (The Foodie Runner), so it was awesome to meet in person!
IMG_8544
For dinner, Heather invited us to dine with the QCC (Quarter Century Club).  It’s members have run 25+ Boston Marathon…INCREDIBLE!!  I loved their stories and it made this trip even more special.
IMG_8545
Afterwards we went to Bova’s Bakery for dessert…heaven!
IMG_8546
We took ours back to the hotel and they lasted about 30 seconds.
IMG_8548
Sunday:
I was so excited to meet up with the Oiselle Flock for a shakeout run!!  I know so many of the Birds online, and loved the chance to run together.
IMG_8552
Andrea Duke is an Elite Oiselle runner and one of the kindest ladies!
IMG_8551
Obviously, I love her style!
IMG_8553
The run was led by Sarah (Mac) Robinson aka Oiselle Mac, the marketing director and runner at Oiselle.
IMG_8549
IMG_8554
I stopped by my favorite Boston juice shop.  How yummy does this look?!! Cocobeet made a special race recovery juice for the marathon.  It will be a perfect post-race treat!
IMG_8547
I met up with some more of my Fleet Feet Race Team Members for lunch.  It means so much to have friends in town for the race!
IMG_8557
Jason and I had an early Italian dinner, so I could get back to the room to prep for the race morning.
IMG_8560
This mushroom risotto rocked my socks!
IMG_8561
The race forecast: Temps in the 40’s (perfect), Light rain to start getting heavier (blah), and a headwind out of the east at 20mph (crap!).
It’s definitely not ideal, but I’m going to show up and run the best race that I can run.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for all of your encouraging words and well wishes!!!  I read them all and they mean the world to me.
IMG_8558
#CHOOSEJOY

39 thoughts on “Boston Birds

  1. Sounds like you had a lovely weekend and are all set for a great race! Hope you have an amazing experience! Our clubs motto is Run with endurance (“Let us run with endurance the race that is set before us” – Hebrews 12:1-2) so go do that! Have fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an amazing weekend! Thanks so much for being so generous in sharing it with us. I’m rooting for you today. Savor each moment, even if the weather sucks. You’re in Boston and even in the rain, you’re doing something amazing. You are amazing! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. GOOD LUCK GIRL!!! You’re probably heading over now, so I’ll be thinking of you in the next few hours when you’re running! I was in Boston last year the week before the marathon, and the city is AMAZING! I got to see the finish line going up and that gave me chills too! Have an amazing time and soak it all in (while you’re getting soaked!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It sounds like you are having a wonderful time and I wish you all the best during your race!! You are going to do fantastic! Hope you don’t mind if I “stalk” you online during the race😉! I look forward to hearing your race recap!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Random thought – you look so graceful in all of your run pictures with your toes kind of pointed 🙂 I wish I looked like that when I ran. Ha! Imagine yourself running swiftly and crossing that finish line. My best wishes are with you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

