Weekend Wrap-Up: West Coast Edition

Saturday: Smile…it’s the weekend!
IMG_9330
This was the first Saturday in 4 months that I didn’t have a Saturday long run obligation.  Guess what I did?  Woke up and got out to run at the crack of dawn.
IMG_9331
Then we headed to the Girls On The Run 5k to volunteer at the Fleet Feet water stop…so much fun!
IMG_9332
It was a gorgeous day so we took our bikes out for a spin through the park.  Pink beach cruiser with a basket…safe to say I’m not on my way to being a triathlete!
IMG_9380
My kick-arse massage therapist, Robin Frazier, celebrated the 5 year anniversary of Franklin Massage with a fundraiser for Steps of Faith.  It was a huge success and fun party!
IMG_9333
I’ve been working with Amy Dutton at Ah Ha Creative to redesign my blog (woo hoo!).  She sent me a congratulatory Boston mug.  How cool is that?!!
IMG_9334
Sunday:
IMG_9335
AND…Jason had a work trip to LA planned for the week.  I made a last minute decision to tag along for a little west coast R&R.
IMG_9336
Airplane survival kit: Starbucks, fruit, and a travel mag
IMG_9339
@natrunsfar (natrunsfar.com) sent me so many great Santa Monica recommendations, so we headed straight to the beach!
IMG_9374
Shopped on the Promenade
IMG_9379
Chowed down on some mexican food…
IMG_9371
IMG_9372
Followed by Froyo (aka my excuse to eat a cup of cookie dough and brownies)!
IMG_9375
Who raced this weekend?  How did it go?!
What are your favorite froyo toppings?
Do you ever take last minute trips without a lot of planning?  I typically research and plan ahead of time.  This trip…not so much.
#choosejoy

40 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up: West Coast Edition

  1. Looks like a fun spur of the moment trip. That’s how I like my froyo too.! Lots of cookies dough and oreo toppings. With vanilla icecream. Yum 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I ran with 5k chardonnay run with a group of girlfriends on Sunday….maybe you saw all the runners from where you were staying….if you haven’t left LA by any chance, walk over to Blue Plate Taco on Ocean for amazing Mexican!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am the one weird person who gets froyo with minimal/no-toppings. I fill my cup up with mostly tart yogurt, some birthday cake flavor on top, and maybe a rainbow sprinkle or too. I’m definitely not the norm!

    Have so much fun on the West Coast! Hope you enjoy some R&R!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like you had an awesome weekend! What a nice little getaway. No races OR froyo for me this weekend! I ALMOST stopped by a Rita’s on my bike ride yesterday, though. Seeing your treat now makes me think I made the wrong decision!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahhh this reminds me… when I went to Boston I bought one of those Starbucks mugs with the city on it and I’d drink my coffee from my Boston mug every morning, and then one day it broke. SO SAD. Your weekend away looks amazing! Glad you had fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your weekend sounds like so much fun!!
    No racing this weekend:( Trying to be smarter about marathon recovery and resting my legs for Ragnar Cape Cod this weekend!

    Cookie dough and butter fingers on my froyo allll the way!!

    I hardly ever take last minute trips because I am a planner!!! My fiance is planning a secret honeymoon for the fall/winter and I am dying not knowing anything!!

    Cali looks amazing! Never been, but reallly really want to! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. No racing for me this weekend but got in a great training run on Saturday. The weather was oh so perfect! My favorite froyo toppings are Oreos or cookie dough and a gummy bear or two 🙂

    What a fun, unexpected trip for you! I haven’t taken a last minute trip before now that I think of it. I am a planner but in an effort to be more spontaneous I would do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow, I love spur of the moment trips like that! Looks like a lot of fun. I like to plan a bit for trips, but also leave some things open for exploring! I just got back from a European trip yesterday, and ran a race in Denmark! It was lots of fun and my first international running experience (I also ran two other times on my trip- once in Spain and once in Sweden!) Have fun in the sun!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Welcome to LA! 🙂

    I ran my first half marathon yesterday (the OC half). It was HARD (I started out way too fast, and paid for it the rest of the race :p), but I made it through, and finished in 2:04:57.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This looks like such a fun weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We do just about everything last minute!!! Whenever we plan then plans seem to change, so last minute is the way to go!!!
    I LOVE frozen yogurt, but I don’t add topping (I am boring).
    We had a ladies lunch at our church, so it was a pretty busy weekend, but super fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. No FroYo – ice cream or nothing, and no toppings. I have issues.

    Fun Run 5K this weekend. It’s possible I got beaten by a dog with legs approximately three inches long.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Never been to cali…can’t wait to go one day!
    Fav froyo topping…fresh fruit.
    Trips….I usually plan (to have something to look forward to), but I can certainly go with the flow and would jump at an opportunity for a last minute get-a-way…enjoy!

    Like

  13. Hi Jen! Welcome to California! I’m up here in San Francisco! You’ll find a lot of great food and sunshine where you are. I hope you have fun! And yes, I’m a planner but LOVE a good last-minute trip — they just don’t happen very often. Happy Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m so glad that you are enjoying some time in L.A.; great way to keep yourself in “recovery” mode, since you’ll be distracted by ALL the pretty things. 😉 I hope you’re having a blast and I can’t wait to hear all about it. I’m usually such a planner but, surprisingly, I handle spontaneous trips pretty well as long as they don’t revolve around any important events (hello – prep work! ha!). Enjoy your trip and keep taking care of that knee; it will be fine, I promise!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: LA Day 2 | Jen Chooses Joy

  16. Race this weekend – eh, so-so. It got so warm and I was not planning on that! That combined with water stops every two miles did me no favors!

    LA sounds fun! Work trips are awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

