Life Lately

Wednesday:
We had an early flight home from LA.  Coffee helped.
IMG_9799
Pro: We got through LAX security in record time thanks to Southwest A-List.
Con: We had 2 hours to kill in LAX.  It made for some good people watching.
I also entertained myself with the MyIdol App.  It’s not in English, but I was able to make this hot mess…
P.S. Apple says the English version is coming soon.  You take a headshot and upload it to begin.
I brought magazines and buckets of fruit for the 4 hour flight.
IMG_9800
After lots of restaurant food, I was craving simple roasted veggies for dinner.
IMG_9801
A little Yogi wisdom from my tea.
IMG_9802
Thursday:
I was so excited to join my friends for a run with the Brentwood Breakfast Club!  Also, it was daylight at 6am!!!
IMG_9803
I went to ProMotion Physical Therapy for some ASTYM with Leah.  My knee was still feeling a little cranky from Boston and CMM.  It turns out I have a tight left hip, so she also gave me some stretches and strengthening exercises to do at home.
IMG_9804
I spent a chunk of my afternoon cleaning patio cushions.  It’s a glamourous life!
IMG_9806
Peonies are in season right now, so I picked up a few from the market.  They’re my favorite!!!
IMG_9805
Backpacker.com put together a list of Healthy, Delicious Homemade Snacks for Hiking and featured my White Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch Bars!
IMG_1403
For dinner I made zucchini noodles with sun dried and fresh tomato sauce.  It was SO good.  It’s vegan, gluten free, low carb, and can even be made raw.
IMG_9812
Friday:
IMG_9807
I ran and did some weights at the gym.  Flex Friday!  My muscles are little, but they’re there.
IMG_9809
I had a green smoothie and this super yummy breakfast quinoa from Daily Juice!
IMG_9808
And then I enjoyed the fruits of my labor…a little rest and sunshine on clean cushions!
IMG_9810
I went by my favorite florist, Garden Delights
IMG_9811
And brought home some beautiful white orchids.
IMG_9817
Alright!  I think we’re officially caught up…whew!  Happy Weekend!!!
IMG_9814
What’s your favorite flower?  I love peonies, lilies, and orchids.
Weekend plans?  Who’s racing?  I’m going to attempt a longish run and then we’re going to visit my husbands family.
Favorite veggies to roast?  My faves are asparagus, mushrooms, broccoli, and sweet potatoes.
If you make a MyIdol cartoon, tag me in it so I can see yours!!
Choose Joy!

23 thoughts on “Life Lately

  1. Lilies! I’ve got them tattooed on my arm. I’m heading out for a run along the river this morning and I have no idea how long I’ll go as I’m unsure how my hip and hamstring are doing. It’s a test run. Fingers crossed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How long have you been a vegetarian? Did you do it for health reasons or personal preference? I am thinking about making the switch. Any advice would be helpful! Or a post about your daily meals/snacks! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been a vegetarian for 7 years now. I did it for health and ethical reasons. I made the switch cold-turkey (accidental pun!). My husband gradually did it. We stopped having meat in the house and he would still order it at restaurants and eventually phased it out completely. Some folks will eliminate one meat at a time from their diet. I have a bunch of dinner recipes on my blog. For snacks, I eat a lot of fruit, green smoothies, nut butters, and popcorn popped in coconut oil. Feel free to send me any questions you have!

      Like

      • Thank you so much! Are there any cookbooks you would recommend? Also, do you recommend counting calories? It seems a lot of vegetarian/vegan food is higher in calories!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I never count calories, but I do try to limit junk food and eat more whole foods. I find most of my recipes online. I love the Knead to Cook blog, and the Minimalist Baker.

        Like

  3. I love lilies and tulips…so simple, so pretty. I’m still coping with my super-sore shoulder and the ‘Boston blues’! Got a lovely little 5 miler in this morning, now to spend the weekend having a good declutter and clear-out, and baking a cake for my mum! And I live on roasted new potatoes. Seriously. Powered by potatoes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Roasted broccoli anytime, all the time! And butternut squash

    5K this morning, finally beat my 5th grade buddy/nemesis who nearly always smokes me! He’ll get me back next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Jen, how do you store your cushions during the winter and how /with what do you clean them? thank you!

    (i just moved to my dream home and actually have porches and a yard to have outdoor furniture. so i need any and all tips! i’ve loved the pics of yiur outdoor areas).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I ran 12 today and it was not my best run. After taking it easy all week, I feel REALLY out of shape. I know it’ll come back quick though! Favorite flowers, lilies, tulips and daisies. Hope you had a great weekend Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll be running the 50k, and I’m in awe of the 50 mile runners! I’ve never done an organized meet up. At big races I end up running into so many other bloggers though. It’s so fun to meet everyone in person!

      Like

Leave a Reply

