Amputee Blade Runners

Monday:
Monday’s are tough.
 IMG_0090
I met up with friends for some Monday morning miles…
IMG_0093
and did some strides after.  I wore my new Saucony Kinvara 6’s and really liked them!
IMG_0091
I’m definitely a numbers nerd…love this!
IMG_0094
Monday evening, Fleet Feet hosted the Amputee Blade Runners.  Fleet Feet Nashville gives each blade runner their first pair of shoes when they first get their new running blade.  Just another reason why I love Fleet Feet!
IMG_0107
Running prosthetics are NOT covered by insurances and considered “not medically necessary” so our organization helps amputees keep an active lifestyle.
The Goal of Amputee Blade Runners is to provide a running prosthesis to one amputee athlete in all 50 states by 2016.
IMG_0098
IMG_0096
IMG_0095
Track Tuesday!
I was excited to wear my new Amputee Blade Runner’s visor!
IMG_0101
Thanks to recommendations from JCJ readers, I tried the Chocolate Honey Stinger gel.  Oh my gosh…it rocks!!
IMG_0099
Track workout:  After a bunch of spring races, we wanted to ease back into speed work.
3.5 mile warm-up
8x400m at 5k pace (400m recovery jog)
1 mile cool down
IMG_0100
I recently started training for the North Fork 50k, so I headed out to the trails for a few “runch” miles.  Everything was so beautiful and green!
IMG_0102
IMG_0104
IMG_0103
Fun mail!!  I have resorted to ordering my favorite Umpqua Oats by the case!
IMG_0106
And, I made another batch of chia seed pudding.  It’s been my craving lately.  This one has almond milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and peanut butter!
IMG_0108
What food have you been craving lately?  
Are you usually a salt or sweet person?
What run shoe are you currently loving?
#choosejoy

26 thoughts on “Amputee Blade Runners

  1. That’s such a cool program by Fleet Feet! I’m glad you support such a great company 🙂 I’m usually more of a sweet person..as in gummy bears 🙂 and for shoes I’m still obsessed with my Brooks PureFlow 3’s! They’re the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a cool program! That’s really awesome! I love seeing people helping others!

    I’m a salty person in the morning, generally I will crave something sweet after dinner. It can be fruit or applesauce or something healthy, but I won’t complain about a cupcake either!

    I’ve worn the Asics Nimbus since 2006 and still love it. I do want to try PureFlows though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The amputee program is amazing. I love things like that! I live for my Nike Pegasus, but would like to try a lightweight shoe for speed/track workouts. And I am both a salty and sweet person. It seems if I have one I need the other – therefore chocolate with sea salt is my favorite! 🙂

    Like

  4. What an amazing organization!
    I have been craving watermelon lately- I got a good one at the store and it has me craving more!
    I am a sweet and salty person- I can be in the mood for one or the other, sometimes together 🙂
    I have a pair of the new Brooks Ghost 8s coming June 1. Excited to see what they’re all about!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, my gosh! I hadn’t thought of adding peanut/almond butter to the chia seed pudding, Jen – great idea! Thank you! I love that your Fleet Feet store is celebrating and supporting the amputee community; what a wonderful way to help out. I am always in awe of the blade runners. I had the Kinvara 4, then switched to another shoe and now I’m going to wear the Kinvaras again; I loved them! I just use them for speed work and races, but I love how lightweight they are. Hope you’re having a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve been craving sushi a lot lately but I think that’s because it’s my typical pre-race food and I have one coming up this weekend….and the town it’s near won’t have sushi!

    Salty AND Sweet…..together…..of course!

    Nike Free 3.0 Flyknit. Love them! I have always avoided Nike running shoes but these make me feel like I’m flying.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

