She’s a Brick House

Tuesday:
IMG_0984

The sunrise was gorgeous on the way to the track!  (Don’t worry, I was in the passenger seat…not driving.)
IMG_0985

Track Tuesday was the return of the Brick Workout.  It’s all about running fast on tired legs…long distance at a slow pace, medium distance at a medium pace, short distance at a fast pace.
IMG_0987

Note: For the next few weeks I’m doing “trackish” speed work, because I’m training for a trail ultra and I’ve learned to not push my speed workouts year round.  I’m running based on effort and less on goal split times.

4 mile warmup plus strides
2 x 1600m (1 minute recovery)
2 x 800m (400m recovery jog)
2 x 400m (400m recovery jog)
1 mile cool down
IMG_0986

I can’t let a Tuesday pass without a Taco Tuesday joke!
IMG_0990

I am addicted to my fruit infuser water bottle.  My current favorite is lemons with a drop or two of liquid stevia, because I have to trick myself into drinking water by making it taste like lemonade.
IMG_0989

Our dinner was a kitchen sink dinner.  It didn’t make a lot of sense, but it’s what I was craving.
IMG_0992

Wednesday:

I met up with some friends at Percy Warner Park for a trail/road combo run.  It was super hot and humid, but we had a blast!  Apparently my crazy hair and I were pumped to take a finish photo!  Oh, and logged another 1,050ft of gain.
IMG_0993

I devoured this pineapple when I got home.
IMG_0988

Not only do I love their mango margaritas, I love the Rosepepper Cantina in Nashville for their hilarious signs.
IMG_0994

Tequila…yay or nay?  I like it in a frozen fruity drink, but can’t do it straight.

Do you do speed work year round or do you take some time off?  I’ve learned that I can’t push it year round.  I still do light speed work, but the downtime is good for me.

This is big debate in our house.  Do you consider fruit healthy?  I could live off of fruit alone.  My husband tries to limit the sugar.

#choosejoy

35 thoughts on “She’s a Brick House

  1. 1. If I could juice tacos I would.
    2. If more people are cold fresh pineapple, candy makers would go out of business. LOVE.
    3. Your kitchen sink supper, looks like my kitchen sink supper (less shrooms, plus beets.)
    4. That picture of you running is AWESOME.

    Oh and I love tequila. Preferably with squeezed fresh limes a splash of agave syrup and Triple Sec. Rocks. No salt. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a tequila person. I don’t drink much anyway so when I do I want a nice glass of wine or a really good quality beer.

    I change up my training throughout the year so I think its good to take the time off and give your body a rest. Plus I think my body does better not knowing exactly what is coming when it comes to my workouts.

    Fruit is definitely healthy. I mean, you need nutrients from other sources too, of course, but eating a small mountain of fruit is way different than eating a small mountain of candy…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay for tequila! It’s my favorite liquor..all the other kinds I can’t drink straight. Love a good tequila!

    I love speed workouts, so I like to do them year round! My legs respond well to short speed sessions more than long and slow runs for some reason, so I love them! And also love fruit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I definitely take time off of speed work. Usually in the weeks after a marathon. I just run recovery paced miles. I think it is necessary to back off to keep improving! I consider fruit healthy but I try to eat a veggie for every serving of fruit I eat to balance it out. Like today. I have strawberries for a snack, but I also have baby carrots! I could also live off of fruit!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tequila in a drink- yay! I have tried it straight so can say definite- nay 😉
    I also take some time off of speed work. Usually after a race and then get back at it a few weeks later.
    I consider fruit healthy from the standpoint of its nutritional value. Compared to a candy bar that also has sugar, I would definitely pick the fruit- pure and nutritious. I eat it daily!
    I just love your pictures! You take the best action shots 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. After a specific college experience, tequila is no longer my friend! I tend to go through cycles of speed work, I usually focus on speed work during the off season, and then transition towards higher milage when training for a marathon. And yes I love love love fruit, but I do try to be conscious of the amount of sugar.. but it’s all natural so that’s my justification for it! Hope you have a great Thursday!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 1. Tequila….. Frozen fruity, yes. Straight, sure!
    2. Speed work yes, probably because I have not yet broken into the big distance running.
    3. Fruit is my go to food. I could live off of it too! I don’t limit my fruit intake because I’m pretty sure I’d be 50lbs without it lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love all your coffee quotes! Coffee is life.
    Tequila…only in a very traditional (not sugary, yes I want salt) margarita on the rocks. Most days, though, if I’d have to choose hard alcohol, I’d take gin or scotch.
    I take breaks from speedwork a few times a year. It’s good for the mind and body.
    Yes to fruit! I try to limit sugar but the sugar in fruit is very natural so I embrace it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cheaper tequila is always good for margaritas but I recently started drinking the expensive stuff on ice mixed with tonic water and lime and it’s SO GOOD and doesn’t leave me feeling all bloaty the way margaritas do.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love post-trail running pictures – everyone looks crazy! Y’all seem to hold it together really well, though, Jen! 😉 I’m so excited that your training has taken this little “detour;” I think it’s good for the running soul, every once in awhile, don’t you? Um, sadly, I do enjoy tequila straight; I once toured Tequila, Mexico and gained a new appreciation for the art of tequila-making. Steve Jobs lived on a fruit-only diet, at one point in his life; pretty sure I could do that, too – ha! Hope you’re having an awesome day, Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love fruit! And, I think it’s healthy. I’m also not the best judge because I can usually trick my mind into thinking most things are healthy. “It’s a better choice than…” 😉

    You drink your water like me! Lemon and a little sweetener is PERFECTION! I think regular lemonade is just too sweet.

    And, tequila is delicious, but only in margaritas!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hi Jen – since you posted Kimberly Snyder’s book on your Friday Fave a few weeks back, I proceeded to order all 3 of her books! I do love fruit and I eat it the way she suggests – on an empty stomach and not AFTER a full meal. I very much look forward to my mid morning snack of fruit – when I’m pretty hungry but it’s too early for lunch 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I believe all the sugar in fruit is good energy. I eat more than the recommended servings every day! However, my husband is a dentist and says drinking fruit juice frequently is bad for your teeth. I guess we’ll never be juicers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

