Home Sweet Home

Thursday:

Beautiful sunrise run…first at the beach
IMG_2032

and then along the Watercolor trails and boardwalks!
IMG_2035
IMG_2046
IMG_2038
IMG_2036

The downside to Jason returning home before me…He sent me this picture of the mail I received while on vacation.  Busted.
IMG_2050

After my run, I had another breakfast on the Fish Out of Water patio.  The view and my fruit bowl were gorgeous!
IMG_2041
IMG_2042

I opted for the adult pool after breakfast.  The Watercolor Inn Beach Club is full of energy and this pool provides a nice quiet spot to relax.
IMG_2043
IMG_2044

And then, it was time to pack and head home, but not before one last picture from my balcony.
IMG_2045

I basically packed a bucket of pineapple for the drive home. I also found a Smoothie King (they have vegan options).
IMG_2049

Friday: National Donut Day!

Coincidence?  I think not.
IMG_2054
IMG_2055

What better way to kickoff donut day than with a gym workout followed by a green smoothie!  I am loving the New Balance Ice Graphic Tunic and 876 seemed like a fun number to run.  Take that OCD runners!
IMG_2053

Bye, bye sand.  A much needed carwash.
IMG_2056

I have been taking dates with me to snack on throughout the day.  One date really fixes my sweet tooth!
IMG_2058

And, the main reason I came home (other than seeing my husband!) was to pickup my race bib for this weekend’s Franklin Half Marathon!  I’m joining friends and using it as a training run.  It’s always a super hot/hilly race.  I would never choose it as a goal race, but it’s fun to support a local run with friends!
IMG_2057

After lots of yummy vacation food, I opted to skip the donuts.  It’s all about balance and I had my fair share of sweets over the last week.

Do you enjoy just running races for fun with friends or does your competitive spirit kick in?

Did you celebrate donut day?  What kind and from where? Obviously, I’m living vicariously!

After vacations, do you feel the need to “reign it in” and eat a little healthier?

Happy Weekend and Choose Joy!

26 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. I actually usually eat healthier on vacation. We always go somewhere warm (usually Florida) and have all kinds of time to cut up fruit :).
    I LOVE your shirt with the elephant on it in the last picture…mind if I ask where you got it from? 🙂
    Your trip looks SO relaxing and fun!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This (current) vacation we are on is the healthiest I’ve ate! I said to my husband yesterday I’ll be the first person ever to loose weight on a vacation instead of gain! LOL With all my food allergies I packed a ton of snacks and stick to chicken salads at dinner w no dressing because I can’t be sure of the ingredients. Plus being in training for my Ultra I’m trying to stick with healthy stuff, that’s keeping me on track too 🙂
    Good Luck at your race!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope you have a great race today!

    I usually feel like I need to reign it back in after vacation, but I was surprised after my cruise in April I didn’t have that super guilty feeling that we all know and hate. 🙂

    And yeah, I celebrated donut day. I had Dunkin Donuts donuts during the day, and then shared a Bag O Donuts at Smokey Bones for dinner.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You take the most amazing pictures. Is that a camera or phone?

    I do like a sweet mixture of competition and running with friends for races. For the most part, Harry and I will split off and do our own thing. But if I’m running with friends, it’s probably for funsies.

    I definitely have a “reboot” day post-vacay.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I just found your blog recently thru hungry runner girl. I have family in Brentwood so I love visiting and racing in the area. I think I saw you at the Franklin half today………….I love that race!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not sure I could ever run a race just for fun. Every time I step up to a start line my competitive drive (mostly against myself) kicks in. How do you tell yourself to take it easy? I skipped having a doughnut, too, because we have gotten into a habit of eating ice cream after every long run this summer and I like to save my weekly treat for then. I agree that it’s about balance!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So where can I get that running tank, the sports bra, and the those white shorts?!? LOVE them all! Those are gorgeous views while on your run! I love you pile of mail. I always try to check the mail before my husband because I’m always ordering something new and getting busted for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am usually craving veggies after vacation. I always have salads when we are traveling, but it isn’t nearly as much veggies as we usually have!

    I can’t do dates. I want to like them, but I just can’t get into them. I need to try them in baking and see if that changes my mind!

    I definitely try to beat Lane home from work on days when I am expecting packages! He’s found ALOT of Oiselle and Amazon boxes on the porch before!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This post made me LOL!! Love the mail and 876 yes it caused my runner OCD personality to cringe! 😉 I don’t like donuts so they’re not a temptation. But national peanut butter day is a ahold different story!! I def try to reign it in post vaca. Summer usually is for fun running and with friends. Not goal races for sure. I’m a terrible heat/humidity runner. Fall is where it’s at for me! So ready for Nov 7th!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sadly, I’m not really a donut fan; is that some kind of sacrilege in the world of running? HA! I’m cracking up about the picture Jason sent you of the boxes…hey, at least the dogs got some stuff, right? It’s not all about you, Jen! 😉 So glad you had a safe trip home!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I always get busted by my husband on all my incoming boxes too! Oops!! I’ve slowly started to learn how to successfully intercept them 😉 Your vacay looked fab, I wouldn’t want to leave!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

