Weekend Wrap-Up

Saturday:

This seemed like an appropriate Instagram post as I was heading out to the trails for a 5 hour long run!
IMG_2664

I made sure to lay every thing out the night before.  Pre-run was 1 cup of coffee and half a Picky Bar.  During my run, I ended up drinking around 50oz of water with Cocogo (Discount code: JENCHOOSESJOY (all caps), 3 Gu’s, and half a Picky Bar during my run.  My goal was 100 calories per hour.
IMG_2665

It takes a village!  We picked up and dropped off friends throughout the 5 hour run.  I am so grateful for the awesome company.  It was super hot and humid, but we had a great run and the time flew by.  4,000ft gain!
IMG_2666

After a much needed shower, I put on compression sleeves and drank my favorite Svelte protein shake.
IMG_2667

And had the prettiest bowl of steel cut oats for breakfast…aka lunch because it was so late when we finished running.
IMG_2668

It happened to be National Rose Day!
IMG_2669

We stopped by the wine store and ended up leaving with a case.
IMG_2671

I wanted a sweet treat, so I got a cup of froyo from Sweet Cece’s…piled high with cookie dough.
IMG_2670

I totally understand why folks love their fitness trackers.  It is so much fun to see my numbers before I go to bed at night.  Now that I’m tapering, I won’t see these numbers again for another two weeks.
IMG_2674

Sunday:

I woke up feeling surprisingly good after my long run, so I headed to the gym.  An empty gym is such a luxury!!
IMG_2683
IMG_2675

I met Jason for a breakfast of fruit, oatmeal, and coffee (of course)!
IMG_2676

And we hiked at Radnor Lake together.  🙂
IMG_2679
IMG_2678

How sweet are these turtles?!
IMG_2677

My shirt du jour pretty much sums it up!
IMG_2680

I am in love with acai bowls and Daily Juice just added one to their menu!
IMG_2682
IMG_2684

My version of Sunday meal prep is stocking up on lots of fruit at Whole Foods.
IMG_2715

The latest Batch Box came in the mail and included the cutest summertime cookies…ALMOST too pretty to eat!
IMG_2673

As a fundraiser, our local high school puts a flag in our yard for patriotic holidays.  Sunday was Flag Day in the US…so pretty!
IMG_2716

Peak and Pit of your weekend?  Peak: Having an awesome long run with Corrie and so many wonderful friends! Pit: Post-froyo bellyache.  (I might have to call it FroNo for a while.)

What do you drink or wear to speed up your recovery?  I like tart cherry juice, Svelte, and compression sleeves.  Oh, and lots of foam rolling.

Who watched Orange is the New Black this weekend?  I didn’t get to watch any of it this weekend.  I will remedy that this week.

Did you race or long run this weekend?  Share!!

Happy Monday and #choosejoy!

30 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. Congrats on your LONG LONG run!!
    -Peak: Long run -Pit: long run in a downpour
    -I’ve been drinking chocolate milk, using compression socks and shorts (especially if I work after a long run) and stretch and foam roll…stretch and foam roll …
    -I ran 8 miles Sunday! Longest mileage, but not the best run….It will be okay though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your run, Jen; y’all are SO READY for Northfork!! It’s crazy when you’re out so long and then it really is more like lunch time, right? I still want to eat breakfast first; it seems weird if I just skip to lunch food – ha! Peak was definitely watching Jonathan during his race; pit would have been the fact that it was cloudy and icky most of the weekend. I limited myself to ONE Orange is the New Black episode; I’m going to try to save some of them for treadmill time. Hope you have an awesome Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wow awesome run!! I love looking at my fitness tracker numbers after a long run day… it makes me feel better about all of the calories I consumer after too 🙂

    I started the new season of Orange is the New Black but only got one episode in… I’m trying to pace myself to make it last longer!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Peak: Spending part of my Sunday at the beach.
    Pit: It now being Monday : (

    What do you drink or wear to speed up your recovery? I wear a lot of compression socks and try to drink a ton of water.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice long run! Looks like you had some great company!
    Peak: Getting a PR at my half marathon this weekend!
    Pit: A fellow runner died at the finish line. So very sad. He was only 20.
    I watched two episodes of OITNB. I thought of it a part of my recovery from my race 😉 I drink some chocolate milk right when I get done (fairlife is the best) wear my compression socks or sleeves and take in lots of water. Works good for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You’re really killing your training this summer! Can’t wait to see how your race goes!

    Pit of my weekend- a REALLY off run on Saturday that I had been so looking forward to. I started later than I meant to as I had struggled with getting sleep all week, and didn’t hit the road as early as I wanted. It was HOT out and I just wasn’t coping well with the heat. I was very bummed at the end of the run (how was 12 miles THAT hard when I ran a marathon a month ago??) and had to remind myself about how the crappy runs are what helps us appreciate the good ones and build up our mental endurance. I just need to give myself time to adjust to the heat.

    The peak of the weekend… picking up my wedding dress! It’s beautiful. Still needs some altering to make it fit- I’m pretty flat-chested ;), but it’s going to be a stunner!

    Like

  7. Peak- I hiked in Percy Warner for three hours yesterday with a great friend. It is so beautiful right now!
    Pit – I did not hydrate well during the hike or after and I felt that dehydration on my 5 mile run this morning. I know better, but it’s still hard to force that water down. I’m working on it though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m also a fan of tart cherry juice after runs! It cures soreness like no other. I had a race this weekend that I was planning on just taking easy, but I ended up feeling great and got my best time of the year! Also got second in my age group which I was thrilled about 🙂 5 hours on a trail sounds tough! I would love if you would write a post about trail running and training for an ultra trail race! I bet you have lots of great info after going through this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on the great long run!

    Totally with you on the tart cherry juice! Love it after a long run. Also have gotten totally hooked on the cocogo during my runs, thanks so much for the recommendation!

    Peak of the weekend was getting to be in a flash mob (so much fun!!!), and my kid and I both medalling in our age divisions in a 5K. I mocked him for being slower than me, because he got 3rd and I got 1st. In reality, he was EIGHT MINUTES faster than I was. : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

